Latest Updates

VN of the Month April 1999

October 17, 2017

Lipstick Adv.EX does not have rivals this month for me since I really need some plot to enjoy the game, not just a school setting with some twist. It's not without flaws, but I'm being sentimental here after its older prequels.

VN of the Month March 1999

October 15, 2017

"Captain Love" to the rescue! That's the VN of the Month March 1999. Endlessly fun and charming game. And bakage are very rarely good games. 

VN of the Month February 1999

October 13, 2017
February has always been the slowest month with the least number of works released. Despite being a galge, Campus ~Sakura no Mau Naka de~ is the only title here worthy of the title the VN of the Month February 1999.

Chiruhana ~Kindan no Ketsuzoku~ 散櫻 ~禁断の血族~ [C's Ware]

October 11, 2017
Foreword: I've been mesmerized by C's Ware game for quite a long time by now and I could not miss this work even though it's not my type of game at all.

VN of the Month January 1999

October 09, 2017

VN of the Month January 1999 is Ikusa Megami. It should actually be Refrain Love 2 for the sheer quality, but the chances someone gives a look to an old ps1 galge are very slim.

VN of the Year 1998

October 07, 2017
Year 1998 has become a year of hope for me. After very devastating transition year 1997 there are so many joys and wonderful games at last. Running a bit ahead, there is a 50% increase both in total number of games and in number of listed games resulting in the record number of masterpieces this year.

VN of the Month December 1998

October 05, 2017
I don't think I'd sound original, but I liked Kuon no Kizuna the most of December 1998. It's a very unique slow horror story that pierces through the time and brings calamity to the mind.

Exodus Guilty エクソダスギルティー [Abel]

October 03, 2017
Foreword: This is Kanno-san's scenario and I could not miss on it. There are a lot of good English reviews on the game so I'll try to just add some additional thoughts I have on top of those reviews.

VN of the Month November 1998

October 01, 2017

My choice of the VN of the Month November 1998 is Exodus Guilty. That's three adventure stories from Kenno-san that share  some motives and link with each other eventually. The final part makes up for the boring narration quite alright.

VN of the Month October 1998

September 29, 2017
VN of the Month October 1998 is Eien no Miyako. At least it's a normal AVG with high production values and a bit of suspense and a romance mixed in many consecutive routes.

luv wave / ラブ・ウェーヴ [C's Ware]

September 27, 2017
Foreword: C's Ware produced so many good works that I inevitably had to observe each work very thoroughly. luv wave with its 3D half-naked girl on the cover looked more like a 3D adult movie than a cyberpunk game. Who knew then that it would be one of my favorite games.

VN of the Month September 1998

September 25, 2017

I've only appreciated With You ~Mitsumete Itai~ and Yume no Saka this month. The former is still a normal school romance VN while Yume no Saka is something unique that probably won't have a similar rival ever. I consider Yume no Saka to be the game of the month September 1998 and there will be a review explaining why.

VN of the Month August 1998

September 24, 2017

What a dreadful month. Pretty much every game is flawed as I see it. Ochita Tenshi ga Utau Uta has the smallest flaw of all - it's really short.

VN of the Month July 1998

September 23, 2017

There aren't real competitors to Luv wave this month. I'll discuss it in a full review.

DiaboLiQuE / -デアボリカ- [Alice Soft]

September 21, 2017
Foreword: I don't believe Alice Soft - they can only make eroge and bakage. But this game was highly praised overseas. Who knows, maybe it's the game that can overcome my aversion.

VN of the Month June 1998

September 19, 2017

I consider Double Cast to be VN of the Month June 1998. The suspense story is surprisingly interesting and some endings are quite fun. It's also the most integral part of the whole series. Why not One ~Kagayaku Kisetsu e~? It's an entertaining read I enjoyed protagonist jokes on the girls. Nagamori Mizuka is the most fun since Kouhei sets her up on daily basis. I have to admit that I've only seen Nanase and Shiina routes. Nanase route is quite commonly recognized as a comedy route and the weakest in story. And next I actually aimed for Nagamori route and somehow bumped into Shiina Mayu paired route instead. The worst route ever. She is delinquent who barely speaks - she's a horrible character to pair up route with and she mercilessly wrecks Nagamori as likable character in it. Speaking of talking - two other heroines have serious problems with speech and another one is blind - is this Katawa Shoujo or smth? Too many weirdos at once, no separate roots for girls and absence of intelligent conversations is what killed the fun for me.

VN of the Month May 1998

September 17, 2017
Quite a busy month with lots of good games. As for me first Castle Fantasia is still too simplistic. Hajimari no Kisetsu is very nice, but hardly a masterpiece matter. Reborn's Day is definitely not for everyone. I played White Album quite long ago (non-remastered version) and it was very plain - couple routes were nice, but nothing more. That leaves us with Diabolique as VN of the Month May 1998. I'm giving a close-up on it soon.

VN of the Month April 1998

September 15, 2017

Sakura Taisen 2 is my personal favorite for the VN of the Month April 1998.

VN of the Month March 1998

September 13, 2017
There are basically 7 SIM/Charage this month, one nakige, one detective and one adventure work. My personal taste usually follows adventure works and that's EVE:The Lost One as the game of the month March 1998. 

Canaan ~Yakusoku no Chi~ カナン ~約束の地~ [Four-Nine]

September 11, 2017
Foreword: The culmination of the series and the biggest jewel Four-Nine ever produced. I'm late with the review since I wanted to finish video playthrough first.

VN of the Month February 1998

September 07, 2017

Kyouken Densetsu Crazy Knuckle 2 is the closed thing to a thrilling story this month.

VN of the Month January 1998

September 05, 2017
My subjective choice for VN of the Month January 1998 is Machi - maybe it's the impact of 428 sequel. I've very difficult history with Divi-Dead as both times I tried it I fell asleep. No true ending is worth such boring gameplay. And I just can't appreciate dating SIMs without impact on story to evaluate Sentimental Graffiti properly. 

VN of the Year 1997

September 03, 2017
What a tiresome year. First Windows year had too many obscure games with tiny bits of information to get. Crude graphics, bland plotlines, typical dating sim gameplay. But all in due time.

VN of the Month December 1997

September 01, 2017
VN of the Month December 1997 is Atlach-Nacha. It's atmospheric, crazy and japanese-styled primordial horror story.

VN of the Month November 1997

August 30, 2017

VN of the Month November 1997 is Moon.. Despite being almost an utsuge it's a touching story about strong wills in weak children bodies and it's the first traditional visual novel as we know them.

VN of the Month October 1997

August 28, 2017

Finally a month with several interesting titles. Swappers is a very fine game. There are two grands Pia Carrot e Youkoso!! 2 and Sotsugyou Vacation also present. But I will be biased and give the title of VN of the Month October 1997 to a fairly unknown RPG Tales of the Nights because of the really fancy RPG/ADV system that it embodied.

VN of the Month September 1997

August 26, 2017
The best Visual Novel of September 1997 is Comic Road - a shy life simulator of a starting manga artist with a lot of animation and very cute scenes.

VN of the Month August 1997

August 24, 2017

Kaeru nyo Panyon is decent enough to be the game of the month... or rather the others are totally appalling.

VN of the Month July 1997

August 23, 2017

So much pure love and light that I'm feeling sick already. Probably I'm really old fashioned, but I'm choosing Onii-chan e as the game of the month. It has some really crazy stuff and rural maniac atmosphere. Can't wait for the dating sims era to end.

VN of the Month June 1997

August 21, 2017

Zoku Hatsukoi Monogatari ~Shuugaku Ryokou~ is the only favorite here for the VN of the Month June 1997.

 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates