Eve: The Fatal Attraction イブティーエフエーアトラクション [C's Ware]

December 30, 2017
Foreword: Again, C's Ware game and EVE on top of that. I actually played it before EVE Zero as a substitute for EVE:Adam Doublefactor, but decided to to keep it for a later time since it has some imminent spoilers for EVE Zero.

EVE Zero [C's Ware]

December 28, 2017
Foreword: Phew, this game took a while to beat! Command selection was not comfortable after point-and-click EVE TFA that I finished before Zero. Eve Zero is best be played as the third game in the series, after EVE Burst Error and EVE Lost One.

VN of the Month April 2000 - Gyousatsu♥Shinsengumi Hitokiri Bishoujo Adventure

December 05, 2017
I've waited for this day with terror since it's going to show whether this blog going to have a purpose after year 2008 - first clash with Micchi blog and notably his fool's day edition targeting April 2000! And the results are quite satisfying so far. Micchi highlighted 13 works and has one work that I can't allow to include because it's Tinkerbell work that produces only camouflaged nukige. But I include 11 more works that Micchi does not have. So for now I'm quite content with the result - there are a lot of obscure works Micchi misses and that's why there's probably a reason for this blog even after 2008. So in April 2000 I consider only one game as masterpiece - Gyousatsu♥Shinsengumi Hitokiri Bishoujo Adventure.

VN of the Month March 2000 - Eve Zero

December 01, 2017
Eve Zero is the game of the Month March 2000. The other masterpiece of the month is Harlem Blade II, but it's only suitable for those who appreciate RPG.

VN of the Month February 2000 - Phantom of Inferno

November 29, 2017
The only masterpiece of February 2000 is Phantom of Inferno and thus it's the VN of the Month. I already made full video walkthrough of the game, but it got wiped with the channel, and I'm not doing it again.

VN of the Month January 2000 - Lien ~Owaranai Kimi no Uta~

November 27, 2017
There's a big change since 2000. From now on I'm starting to block visual novels by certain criteria (fandisk, nukige, shounen ai, yaoi, antology, demo, non-Japanese, EVN, otome, doujin) which means I'll still note them at the back of the post, but will only provide a synopsis, an opening song and review links where possible. But there is also a good news - I'll be making reviews and video walkthroughs of at least one route from the games of the month.

Gensou no Artemis, Lien ~Owaranai Kimi no Uta~ and Treating 2U are the masterpieces of the month. And VN of the Month January 2000 is Lien ~Owaranai Kimi no Uta~. That's a very solid start of the year.

VN of the Year 1999

November 24, 2017

1990s are over. And to commemorate that I've made a video playlist of all the openings/demo/endings with singing/energetic instrumental from 1990s here Visual Novel Openings 1990s
I'll be making such playlists for each new year starting with 2000 since each year is going to have over 100 such opening/ending/demo themes.

Second Windows era year is behind. It failed to bring such a game that I'd announce Vn of the year 1999 right away. Instead, it brought a number of quality galge and some quirky cryptic games that I personally had a good time unwinding. 

VN of the Month December 1999 - Elemental Arts

November 22, 2017

There are surprisingly many masterpieces this month. There are three: Elemental Arts, Green and SPARK! My personal favourtite would of course be Vist, but even I understand that it lacks the masterpiece level. The game of the Month December 1999 is Elemental Arts since I would not like to compliment eroge'ish Green and bakage'ish SPARK!

Vist [C's Ware]

November 12, 2017
Foreword: It's a C's Ware story game so I'm in. I have not read reviews prior to playing the game. I followed three different walkthroughs though - and still failed to get even a single happy ending. You can read about my torments below.

EVE: The Lost One [C's Ware]

November 08, 2017
Foreword: If you do not know of EVE:Burst Error, you better stop here right now and go watch video playthrough of that gorgeous game. EVE the Lost One is a direct sequel to that game and there will naturally be spoilers on the prequel content. That being settled - I did not pay much attention to the Lost One right away and did not review it properly while observing year 1998. Japanese reviews failed even to give an outline of the plot and were generally not too favorable. Only after playing it myself I found out the perfect answer "why" and that will be covered below.

Refrain Blue リフレインブルー [Elf]

November 06, 2017
I don't feel eligible to write a full review since I only listened to the voice parts of the game. And the reason for that is that the game is unhookable by any instruments. No threads are found at all. Still I'm confident enough on the grappled content to write my thoughts of it.

VN of the Month November 1999 - PARTS

November 04, 2017

The VN of the Month November 1999 is PARTS. The only really serious work.

Silver Jiken シルバー事件 [Grasshopper Manufacture]

November 02, 2017
Since there are so many reviews of it, there's no need in full review, so I'm just explaining my choice for this game to be the game of the month October 1999.

VN of the Month October 1999 - Silver Jiken

October 31, 2017

The game of the October 1999 is Silver Jiken. I wanted to write in couple sentences why, but I failed at that miserably and I'd better post a non-structured review of it in order not to overburden this post.

Kazeoto, Chirin かぜおと、ちりん [C's Ware]

October 29, 2017
Foreword: It's a C's Ware game and these guys have not let me down even once. Unlike Re-Leaf which has quite a clear synopsis and multiple endings, this work is much more mysterious. I thought I'd get just another rural slice of life with some side mystery, but what I got was an ancestor of Cross†Channel with a global anomaly and looped story.

VN of the Month September 1999 - Kazeoto, Chirin

October 27, 2017

For me the best VN of September 1999 is Kazeoto, Chirin. There's such well known game as Memories Off as well, but a I place a good midscrew over a good slice of life in most of cases.

VN of the Month August 1999 - Tsui no Sora

October 25, 2017

There's not much to talk about this month. Tsui no Sora and L no Kisetsu: A piece of memories are the masterpieces of August 1999. My heart is totally with Tsui no Sora.

VN of the Month July 1999 - Mamatoto ~a record of war~

October 23, 2017

Wow, there's a mortal combat between such titans as Team Baldrhead, Alice Soft and Studio e.go this month. Well, Men at Work is the first RPG offspring of Studio e.go and it's just too simplistic to compete yet. Baldrhead is also the first part in the series and suffers from some technical problems and short duration. Mamatoto ~a record of war~ on the other hand is quite a polished RPG that even has English patch and it is the VN of the Month July 1999.

VN of the Month June 1999 - Kanon

October 21, 2017

The VN of June 1999 is Kanon. Not because it's well known - that's irrelevant. But because I've found a route in it that I totally liked. I'm talking about Mai route, the demon hunter. The main funny part coupled with night school hunt were a cool mix. The three-sided friendship of Mai-Sayuri-Yuuichi was just perfect, because the bonds between the girls were so firm and that they understood each other completely compared to Yuuichi who doubted them often. There are night evil spirits fights, lots of swordplay, cool and always right Mai - what's not to like here? I did not notice forced drama or sleazy relations there. Well, the last hour of Mai route was horrible, because nothing happens apart of childhood memories and desperate attempts to squeeze a tear by endless repeats of the same things. I safely ignored the last hour and thus saved only good memories about Mai route. I'm not going to explore other heroines routes since I'm not ok with their personalities and/or mental health. So hip hip hooray to Kanon, the great devil hunter story or at least so I remember it for. I'm absolutely assured that the main power of Key is in creating very enjoyable drama-free general routes and heroines routes and especially endings fall into being forced nakige.

VN of the Month May 1999 - Comic party

October 19, 2017
There should be no two opinions about this, Comic party rocked May 1999. It's very difficult for a SIM to gain my approval, but all the elements fit here perfectly. So far there have not been more than a couple of doujin games released, but this game has woken the devil of 2000s.

VN of the Month April 1999 - Lipstick Adv.EX

October 17, 2017
Love Forever and Lipstick Adv.EX are the masterpieces of the month, but I prefer Lipstick Adv.EX

VN of the Month March 1999 - Captain Love

October 15, 2017
Captain Love is the only masterpiece of the month

VN of the Month February 1999 - Campus ~Sakura no Mau Naka de~

October 13, 2017

There aren't masterpieces this month, but Campus ~Sakura no Mau Naka de~ is the only title worthy of being game of the month.

Chiruhana ~Kindan no Ketsuzoku~ 散櫻 ~禁断の血族~ [C's Ware]

October 11, 2017
Foreword: I've been mesmerized by C's Ware game for quite a long time by now and I could not miss this work even though it's not my type of game at all.

VN of the Month January 1999 - Ikusa Megami

October 09, 2017
Refrain Love 2 and Ikusa Megami are masterpieces of the month, but my preference goes to Ikusa Megami

VN of the Year 1998 - luv wave

October 07, 2017
Year 1998 has become a year of hope for me. After very devastating transition year 1997 there are so many joys and wonderful games at last. Running a bit ahead, there is a 50% increase both in total number of games and in number of listed games resulting in the record number of masterpieces this year.

VN of the Month December 1998 - Kuon no Kizuna

October 05, 2017
Kuon no Kizuna is the only masterpiece of December 1998.

Exodus Guilty エクソダスギルティー [Abel]

October 03, 2017
Foreword: This is Kanno-san's scenario and I could not miss on it. There are a lot of good English reviews on the game so I'll try to just add some additional thoughts I have on top of those reviews.

VN of the Month November 1998 - Exodus Guilty

October 01, 2017
Castle Fantasia ~Seima Taisen~ and Exodus Guilty are the masterpieces of the month and the winner is Exodus Guilty for being the more traditional VN type.

VN of the Month October 1998 - Psyclone

September 29, 2017
Psyclone is the only masterpiece of the month.

luv wave / ラブ・ウェーヴ [C's Ware]

September 27, 2017
Foreword: C's Ware produced so many good works that I inevitably had to observe each work very thoroughly. luv wave with its 3D half-naked girl on the cover looked more like a 3D adult movie than a cyberpunk game. Who knew then that it would be one of my favorite games.

VN of the Month September 1998 - With You ~Mitsumete Itai~

September 25, 2017
With You ~Mitsumete Itai~ is the only masterpiece of the month.

VN of the Month August 1998 - Shiokaze no Memory

September 24, 2017
There aren't masterpieces this month, but my personal favorite is Shiokaze no Memory, it's short, nice and has a distinctive individuality.

VN of the Month July 1998 - luv wave

September 23, 2017
Kisetsu o Dakishimete and luv wave are masterpieces of the month, but luv wave is my absolute favorite.

DiaboLiQuE / -デアボリカ- [Alice Soft]

September 21, 2017
Foreword: I don't believe Alice Soft - they can only make eroge and bakage. But this game was highly praised overseas. Who knows, maybe it's the game that can overcome my aversion.

VN of the Month June 1998 - One ~Kagayaku Kisetsu e~

September 19, 2017
Cross Tantei Monogatari ~Motsureta Nanatsu no Labyrinth~Double Cast and One ~Kagayaku Kisetsu e~ are the masterpieces of the month, but One ~Kagayaku Kisetsu e~ is the clear winner here.

VN of the Month May 1998 - Diabolique

September 17, 2017
Diabolique and Hajimari no Kisetsu ~Izakaya Fuyu Monogatari~ are the masterpieces of the month, but Diabolique is a product of much bigger scale and thus is VN of the Month.

VN of the Month April 1998 - Love Escalator

September 15, 2017
Love EscalatorKojin Kyouju: La Leçon Particulière and First Kiss☆Story are the masterpieces of the month, but Love Escalator is a more accessible and original story.

VN of the Month March 1998 - EVE: The Lost One

September 13, 2017
EVE: The Lost One is the only masterpiece of the month.

Canaan ~Yakusoku no Chi~ カナン ~約束の地~ [Four-Nine]

September 11, 2017
Foreword: The culmination of the series and the biggest jewel Four-Nine ever produced. I'm late with the review since I wanted to finish video playthrough first.

VN of the Month February 1998 - Doukoku Soshite...

September 07, 2017
Doukoku Soshite... is the only masterpiece of the month and thus is VN of the Month.

VN of the Month January 1998 - Machi

September 05, 2017
There are no masterpieces this month. My subjective choice for VN of the Month January 1998 is Machi - maybe it's the impact of 428 sequel. I've very difficult history with Divi-Dead as both times I tried it I fell asleep. No true ending is worth such boring gameplay. And I just can't appreciate dating SIMs without impact on story to evaluate Sentimental Graffiti properly.

VN of the Year 1997 - Canaan ~Yakusoku no Chi~

September 03, 2017
What a tiresome year. First Windows year had too many obscure games with tiny bits of information to get. Crude graphics, bland plotlines, typical dating sim gameplay. But all in due time.

VN of the Month December 1997 - Rougetsu Toshi

September 01, 2017
Rougetsu Toshi is the only masterpiece of the month.

VN of the Month November 1997 - Moon.

August 30, 2017
Finally some competition! I rate all of Viper-F40Nails and Moon. as masterpieces. But Moon. is the one that leaves the biggest impact.

VN of the Month October 1997 - Sweepers!

August 28, 2017
I only rate Sweepers! as masterpiece in October and thus it's VN of the Month.

VN of the Month September 1997 - Comic Road

August 27, 2017
The best Visual Novel of September 1997 is Comic Road - a shy life simulator of a starting manga artist with a lot of animation and very cute scenes.

VN of the Month August 1997 - Kaeru nyo Panyon

August 24, 2017
Kaeru nyo Panyon is the only masterpiece game of August 1997.

VN of the Month July 1997 - Tokimeki Memorial Drama Series Vol. 1: Nijiiro no Seishun

August 23, 2017
There are no masterpieces this month. Main candidates are Tokimeki Memorial Drama Series Vol. 1: Nijiiro no Seishun and Shinseiki Evangelion Koutetsu no Girlfriend, but the latter one has little in the story department, it's more of a bakage for fans, so my choice is Tokimeki Memorial Drama Series Vol. 1: Nijiiro no Seishun that was a very fresh game with those mini-games incorporated. It's only shortcoming is not sufficient length, but overall it's a very good quality product.

VN of the Month June 1997 - Zoku Hatsukoi Monogatari ~Shuugaku Ryokou~

August 21, 2017
We get only Zoku Hatsukoi Monogatari ~Shuugaku Ryokou~ as masterpiece in June.

VN of the Month May 1997 - To Heart

August 20, 2017
To Heart is the only masterpiece of May 1997.

Gao Gao! 3rd ~Wild Force~ / GAOGAO!3rd ~ワイルドフォース~ [Four-Nine]

August 19, 2017
Foreword: I've noted the series quite long ago, but only when approached 4th final work decided to play the prequel that's directly connected with 4th part. 

VN of the Month April 1997 - Canaan ~Yakusoku no Chi~

August 18, 2017
 Canaan ~Yakusoku no Chi~ stands tall as the only masterpiece of April 1997

VN of the Month March 1997 - Ruriiro no Yuki

August 18, 2017
Ruriiro no Yuki is the only masterpiece of March 1997.

VN of the Month February 1997 - Yatsu no Na wa Diamond

August 15, 2017
The only masterpiece game of February is Yatsu no Na wa Diamond

VN of the Month January 1997 - Rookies

August 15, 2017
Ryouki no Ori Dai 2 Shou and Rookies are the masterpieces of January. But Rookies is a more traditional story-focused visual novel with charming characters and lots of kind humor. Rookies is VN of January 1997.

VN of the Year 1996 - Kono Yo no Hate de Koi o Utau Shoujo YU-NO

August 14, 2017
The best year so far, actually. I really hope that I'll be able to say the same about every forthcoming year. 84 works during the year amounts for an average of 7 works each month - a very saturated year.

VN of the Month December 1996 - Kono Yo no Hate de Koi o Utau Shoujo YU-NO

August 13, 2017
Kichikuou Rance and Kono Yo no Hate de Koi o Utau Shoujo YU-NO are masterpieces of the month, but even Rance can't compete with YU-NO this month.

VN of the Month November 1996 - Mashou no Kao

August 12, 2017
After starry October nothing really shines this month. If we narrow down the candidates I'd have to choose from Mashou no KaoHigh School DaysSotsugyou Shashin 2 ~Raspberry Dream~Tsuioku
and Kindaichi Shounen no Jikenbo: Hihoushima Arata Naru Sangeki. Last one is out as PS1 exclusive (win version nowhere to be found). Sotsugyou Shashin 2 is out as a difficult type of game for modern players. Tsuioku is way too obscure. High School Days is a really nice game, but even warm vanilla school game can't really invoke much interest with poor graphics and no voicing. I can't believe myself, but I'm nominating Mink's Mashou no Kao as VN of November 1996. This crazy nymphet game has a strong personality and leaves a lasting impact through the years.

Es no Houteishiki / Esの方程式 [Abodagio Powers]

August 11, 2017


Foreword: I did not want to review it. But then I watched the hentai OVA of its preuel - Mystery of the Necronomicon (黒の断章 Kuro no Danshō) and it's a total blast. I highly recommend to watch it to everyone. A very memorable and bloody occult detective story. There was no anime version of the sequel, so I rushed in.

VN of the Month October 1996 - Bounty Hunter Rudy

August 10, 2017
Star PlatinumAngel HaloStone Walkers and Bounty Hunter Rudy are masterpieces of the month. That's a difficult choice! I believe that Bounty Hunter Rudy is the worthiest for being VN of October 1996.

VN of the Month September 1996 - Sakura Taisen

August 09, 2017
Ma Doll and Sakura Taisen are the masterpieces of the month, but I prefer Sakura Taisen as VN of the Month

 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates