VN of the Month February 2020 - Marco to Ginga Ryuu

October 20, 2021
Marco to Ginga Ryuu is the only bearable title this month. Micchi does not mind Full Kiss S , Oshi no Love Yori Koi no Love and Hajikano ~Kimi ga Iru Heya~

VN of the Month January 2020 - Kamisama no Shippo ~Etogami-sama tachi no Ongaeshi~

October 18, 2021
If I choose between indi touching crap, a lolicon moege, a twisted nukige , another mimikko moege and a single heroine nukige, what would entail the least cringe... there aren't good choices here, so I clench my teeth and call Kamisama no Shippo ~Etogami-sama tachi no Ongaeshi~ VN of the Month. What a wicked start of the year... Micchi does not mind this choice and also suggests Amairo Chocolata and a  fandisc

VN of the Year 2019 - Realive

October 16, 2021
2019 hit the new bottom in many aspects and marked the beginning of COVID era, so there was a noticeable loss in attention for visual novels by the end of it. I counted only 13 masterpieces, could not even get 100 openings in Visual Novel Openings 2019 . Without a clear favorite I'll call Realive VN of the Year .

VN of the Month December 2019 - Musicus!

October 14, 2021
Musicus! is the only game I can point out. Micchi lists all of Aikotoba , Cafe Stella to Shinigami no Chou , Animal☆Panic and Suzukuri Karin-chan

VN of the Month November 2019 - Shiraha Kirameku Koi Shirabe

October 12, 2021
An average chunige Shiraha Kirameku Koi Shirabe still wins over an average charage for me. Micchi likes all of Docchi no i ga Suki desu ka , ChuSingura46+1 Wacchi to Onii-chan no Raburabu Nagaya Seikatsu and some fandisc.

VN of the Month October 2019 - Raillore no Ryakudatsusha

October 10, 2021
Gratz on hitting the new bottom with just three releases. Raillore no Ryakudatsusha is the only notable one. Micchi notes Ai Kiss and two releases with shifted dates.

VN of the Month September 2019 - Kimagure Temptation

October 08, 2021
Kimagure Temptation is good enough to be VN of the Month , or it may easily be AI: The Somnium Files if you can stand investigation games. Micchi also gives a chance to Cross Concerto and Study § Steady

Sora no Baroque 虚空のバロック [light]

October 06, 2021

I read Sora no Baroque blindly just because I could not believe light company would release something really terrible. Somehow, I had high hopes for it despite all the worrying signs. Not going to be a coherent review, just thoughts.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLwGwDxf37gEmJK5veUbZxoR5sjPFd2QCO

I don't want to rate Sora no Baroque. The reason is that it's just not the genre I can rate like I can't rate nukige or loliconge. I don't want to have anything in common with such genres let alone compare them with normal games. It's beneath the level of decency for me. This review is going to contain not story, but visual spoilers as I don't want anyone to ever read this visual novel, and I don't think anything can spoil it even more than it does on its own.

For me Sora no Baroque is a manual into corruption . It starts more or less normally, then suddenly throws a gangbang flashback instantly. Still reading? Let's see how you react at larvae-like flesh monsters. Ok, now let's see if you can stand transformed into the same creature protagonist. Wow, you're a tough one, breath deeply and take a rest from the flashbacks. We don't have time for any romance, so let's just throw in a bath with four naked girls instantly, because there's a trope that protagonist should see a naked girl to be able to treat her as a romance interest. No time to waste, so let's do it in bulk. Also, can use this scene as flashback in all the individual routes, just perfect. Now enjoy a brief plot section, because it's not going to last. 
Let's start with something light like Kamori route, shall we? Cannibalism is just ok for the start. I think some public location H and 5 CG with different stages of body devouring should be enough for now. The second mandatory route to reveal true route is Yachiru one. This time let's kidnap Yachiru and procede into a long humiliation gang bang scene. What does protagonist do when he finally comes by the end of it? He adds some more steam, of course. Let's finish with more gore and eye gouging.

So, you survived to the true Sachi route that unlocks only after two previous horrible routes? Well done. Now you probably expect the greatest route to be worthy of true route. Sucks to be you, really, because it's not that kind of game. It's a game where true route actually means true corruption route. Hope you saw "Boxing Helena" movie , because you're going to face the disgust of full dismemberment , yes, even in H scenes.
But probably I nitpick and game can be perfectly fine if disturbing scenes are skipped? Even in this case you need to accept aesthetics of bone carcasses with organs and flesh sticking out of enemies and even protagonist. I have to admit that game tries to get away from most typical corruption element - tentacles. Yes, there are tentacle-like looking arms, but usually with some bone hook on the end. Some tentacles are shown very closely, so we don't see what they constitute as a whole. I believe there was only one scene with another traditional element of corruption games - human meatwall. Lastly, although I call enemies larvae-like flesh monsters, there aren't distinctive and disgusting larvae. So what game tries to do is reinvent corruption eroge by using bone elements more than traditional tentacle and larvae elements.

What I mean is that I can't really discuss plot or heroines as I constantly want to puke thinking about this game. All these biohacking attempts of body denial and downgrading into some instruments feel alien to me even though I'm perfectly fine with cyberpunk and technology implants. Game is not as hardcore as Baggot Baits as it tries to mimic into the bone over flesh theme, but my threshold of acceptance is somewhere at 10% of what's presented in Sora no Baroque. After that it ceases to be worthy game. It has no place among decent games and thus can't be rated unless you are choosing one among corruption nukige. I'm sorry I could not get past the surface visual aesthetics, but - hey - this is my personal experience. There are some people who can discuss this game as essentially a charage with important philosophical message, but the same can be said about Mindead Blood and Maggot Baits with the right outlook, tastes and disgust threshold.

Common Route 















Kamori End




































Yachiru End























Sachi End



























VN of the Month August 2019 - Wakaba-iro no Quartet

October 04, 2021
You know August... my conspiracy theory is that Micchi stopped doing monthly overviews just to skip doing August 2020. Jokes aside, anything that is not a doujin or a straight up nukige is automatically the winner in August. And that anything is Wakaba-iro no Quartet . Micchi adds Wanko no Yomeiri and another straight up lolicon nukige.

VN of the Month July 2019 - Ren'ai, Karichaimashita

October 02, 2021
If we count only finished products, Ren'ai, Karichaimashita and maybe Kokorone=Pendulum! with the right mood take the upper hand. Micchi is also interested in Ryuusei World Actor and Study§Steady

VN of the Month June 2019 - Tasogare no Folclore

September 30, 2021
Tasogare no Folclore is the only masterpiece in June. Micchi also finds Tsuki no Kanata de Aimashou , Iegami Nyoubou ~Koisuru Inaba wa Kinpatsu Usagi~ and some loliconge fandisc worthy of notice.

VN of the Month May 2019 - Tamayura Mirai

September 28, 2021
Tamayura Mirai is the only suitable title for me, although Micchi has all the right to also appreciate D.C.4 ~Da Capo 4~ , Girls Book Maker and Renran Spirichu .

VN of the Month April 2019 - Kanzume Shoujo no Shuumatsu Sekai

September 26, 2021
Kanzume Shoujo no Shuumatsu Sekai  and Missing-X-Link ~Ten no Yurikago, Togi no Hana~ are both strong titles from this fruitful April. Micchi can't have enough of 9-nine- Haruiro Harukoi Harunokaze , Koioto Se Piace and Tonari ni Kanojo no Iru Shiawase ~Summer Surprise~

VN of the Month March 2019 - Realive

September 24, 2021
Realive is the only masterpiece I can vouch for. Micchi adds Aonatsu Line and pieces/Wataridori no Somnium to the list of interest.

VN of the Month February 2019 - Swallowtail -Ano Hi, Ao o Koete-

September 22, 2021
I'll only mention Swallowtail -Ano Hi, Ao o Koete- as a worthy game for me. Micchi goes all out with Evenicle 2 , Happiness! 2 Sakura Celebration  , SPIRAL!! , Yume to Iro de Dekiteiru and even Aibeya

VN of the Month January 2019 - Sorceress*Alive! ~the World's End Fallen Star~

September 20, 2021
Sorceress*Alive! ~the World's End Fallen Star~ and Sakura, Moyu. -As the Night's, Reincarnation- are the only masterpieces. Micchi also does not mind Sugar*Style ,  love clear and a delayed title.

VN of the Year 2018 - Butterfly Seeker

September 18, 2021
Rather modest year, overall. There are still as many as 17 masterpieces, but number of games has decreased significantly, and I barely got 100 openings in Visual Novel Openings 2018 . Without a strong chunige title I'll opt out for the strongest mystery title as VN of the Year, and that's Butterfly Seeker .

VN of the Month December 2018 - Kotonoha Maichiru Natsu no Koe

September 16, 2021
Kotonoha Maichiru Natsu no Koe with all its flaws is still the only candidate worthy of mention . Micchi gives a chance to other charage of the month - Sora ni Kizanda Parallelogram and Hinekuremono no Gakuen Seishun Monogatari

VN of the Month November 2018 - Amazing Grace -What color is your attribute?-

September 14, 2021
No masterpieces this month. But if I had to choose something, I'd probably point at Amazing Grace -What color is your attribute?- . Micchi is also happy about nukige Uchi no Imouto and RPG Fuukan no Grasesta .

VN of the Month October 2018 - Deep One

September 12, 2021
Deep One is the only decent game this month. Micchi is also moderately interested in Deatte 5fun and LocaLove Dousei×Kouhai

VN of the Month September 2018 - Raspberry Cube

September 10, 2021
Raspberry Cube looks like the best candidate from the presented ones. Micchi also likes CharaBration and Kemono Musume no Sodatekata

VN of the Month August 2018 - Mirai Radio to Jinkou-bato

September 08, 2021
Mirai Radio to Jinkou-bato is the winner by default. Micchi also likes one delayed title.

VN of the Month July 2018 - Haru to Yuki,

September 06, 2021
Haru to Yuki, basically wins by default here as gameplay and series releases don't qualify. Micchi likes provoking Nukige Mitai na Shima ni Sundeiru Watashi wa Dou Surya Ii Desu ka and fluffy Wanko no Yomeiri as well as a delayed title

Ai Yori Aoi Umi no Hate アイよりアオい海の果て [AXL]

September 04, 2021
Foreword: I have no trouble with underdeveloped futuristic settings, so I thought I could look at this game from a different perspective. Here's the result.

VN of the Month June 2018 - Maoten

September 02, 2021
Maoten is VN of the Month and Curio Dealer is a runner-up. Micchi expectedly favors Summer Pockets and Koi wa Sotto Saku Hana no you ni and some fandisc

VN of the Month May 2018 - Shunkyoku no Tyrhhia ~What a Beautiful Dawn~

August 31, 2021
Shunkyoku no Tyrhhia ~What a Beautiful Dawn~ is VN of the Month , also chosen by Clephas . The rest are either flawed or not memorable. Micchi is satisfied with Koisuru Kokoro to Mahou no Kotoba , Kimi to Hajimeru Dasanteki na Rabukome and some loli nukige.

VN of the Month April 2018 - Yuusha to Maou to, Majo no Cafe

August 29, 2021
It's a very weak month, and Yuusha to Maou to, Majo no Cafe is the winner . Clephas reluctantly nominated it. Micchi has a broader range of candidates - Tenpure , Nyanto Suteki na Natsuiro Days and some fandisc.

VN of the Month March 2018 - Butterfly Seeker

August 27, 2021
There are as many as five masterpieces - Kieta Sekai to Tsuki to Shoujo -The World was Prayed by The Girl Living A Thousand Years-  , Unjou no Fairy Tale ,  Karigurashi Ren'ai  ,  AI Love: Koisuru Otome wa Kikaijikake and Butterfly Seeker. But the last one is chosen by Clephas and deserves the upper hand.
Micchi adds RIDDLE JOKER and Natsuiro Ramune to the list.

VN of the Month February 2018 - Lost Echoes

August 25, 2021
Lost Echoes is VN of the Month and Otome wa Boku ni Koishiteru: Trinkle Stars is another masterpiece. Clephas had the order reversed. Micchi also pulls out Full Uso -Complete Four Seasons- and a lolicon nukige.

VN of the Month January 2018 - Yorite Konoha wa Kurenai ni

August 23, 2021
Clephas chose Yorite Konoha wa Kurenai ni and I also embrace this opinion for now till I play Sora no Baroque myself. Shogun-sama wa Otoshigoro is another masterpiece. Micchi is enthralled by Soi Kano ~Gyutto Dakishimete~ and a loli nukige

VN of the Year 2017 - Suisei Ginka

August 21, 2021
Year 2017 is probably the last great year with respectable number of releases each month and almost 20 masterpieces. Clephas ended up choosing Aoi Tori, but I generally choose some chunige, so it's Suisei Ginka this time.  Visual Novel Openings 2017 . 

VN of the Month December 2017 - Bakumatsu Jinchuu Houkoku Resshiden Miburo

August 19, 2021
Bakumatsu Jinchuu Houkoku Resshiden Miburo does not have serious contestants in a Comiket month and is VN of the Month. Kin'iro Loveriche is another masterpiece. Clephas had somewhat the same vision. Micchi prioritized Koi ni, Kanmi o Soete, Natural Vacation and Kin-iro Loveriche

VN of the Month November 2017 - Aoi Tori

August 17, 2021
Aoi Tori , Kizuna Kirameku Koi Iroha  , Yoru Meguru, Bokura no Maigo Kyoushitsu are all decent choices within their genres, but I should agree with Clephas about the first one being the winner. Micchi feels the same, but adds lighter ones like Making*Lovers , Maho×Roba -Witches spiritual home- , Abnormal Lovers and Yurameku Kokoro ni Michita Sekai de, Kimi no Yume to Yokubou wa Kanau ka

VN of the Month October 2017 - Yami to Hikari no Sanctuary

August 15, 2021
Yami to Hikari no Sanctuary is VN of the Month with Kanojo wa Tenshi de Imouto de being another masterpiece. Clephas actually chose both. Micchi favors Nora to Oujo to Noraneko Heart 2 , Tsugihagi Make Peace and a delayed title.

VN of the Month September 2017 - Oni ga Kuru. ~Ane ga Hinshi de Pinchi Desu~

August 13, 2021
Oni ga Kuru. ~Ane ga Hinshi de Pinchi Desu~ is VN of the Month and Omokage Railback is another masterpiece. Clephas was choosing between these two with such outcome. Micchi leans towards Sakura Hitohira Koi Moyou , Seven Days and a fandisc.

Dungeons & Daimeiwaku 大迷宮&大迷惑 -GREAT EDGES IN THE ABYSS- [Liar-soft]

August 10, 2021
Foreword: I'm a fan of DnD , Wizardry 8 and Japanese Wizardry series, so I could not just pass by Dungeons & Daimeiwaku. As for Mareni writing, it's a stamp of minimally acceptable quality although without a normal story it can easily go astray.

VN of the Month August 2017 - Blade x Bullet - Kinrin no Soleil

August 09, 2021
Another August capitulates before the doujins. Blade x Bullet - Kinrin no Soleil is the only normal game and winner by default. Did not find Clephas winner for August, but it's ether the same or fandisc or none. Micchi is more interested in Kotonoha Amrilato and fandisc.

VN of the Month July 2017 - Hikari no Umi no Apeiria

August 05, 2021
Hikari no Umi no Apeiria is the only masterpiece in July 2017. Clephas also thought so. Micchi on the other hand finds Hatsujou Sprinkle , Shin Koihime†Musou -Kakumei- Souten no Haou and O-uchi ni Kaeru Made ga Marshmallow Desu to be worthy.

VN of the Month June 2017 - Ai Yori Aoi Umi no Hate

August 03, 2021
Clephas ended up choosing nothing, but I'll stop at Ai Yori Aoi Umi no Hate , will need to eventually review it. Micchi only pointed at delayed titles and one fandisc.

VN of the Month May 2017 - ChronoBox

August 02, 2021
ChronoBox made the day for me with Ojou-sama no Hanbun wa Ren'ai de Dekiteimasu!  and Newton to Ringo no Ki as other masterpieces. Clephas had the second one in mind for the winner. Micchi adds such titles as Anata ni Koisuru Ren’ai Recette and nukige Nekopara.

Ama no Sora Retrospect 天ノ空レトロスペクト [GLace]

August 01, 2021
Foreword: I know I was going to review Schwarzesmarken, and I quite liked the anime version, but I see zero reason to play the game after the anime. Ama no Sora Retrospect, on the other hand, seems to have zero English reviews despite the non-trivial setting, thus it fits my choice pattern nicely.

VN of the Month April 2017 - Tsuihou Senkyo

July 30, 2021
Clephas chose nothing for this month. But if we add console releases, Tsuihou Senkyo is good and original enough to be called VN of the Month even though I tend to dislike survival games. Micchi expectedly fell for Grisaia: Phantom Trigger Vol. 1 & 2 and 9-nine- Kokonotsu Kokonoka Kokonoiro , while Zen favors Niizuma LOVELY×CATION and delayed titles.

VN of the Month March 2017 - Haruru Minamo ni!

July 28, 2021
Haruru Minamo ni! is VN of the Month, let's also give credit to Hataraku Otaku no Ren'ai Jijou . Clephas has the same winner. Micchi kinda likes everything - Suisou Ginka no Istoria, TRINOLINE, Natsuiro Kokoro Log ~Happy Summer~, Koinosu☆Ichacolize .

VN of the Month February 2017 - Suisei Ginka

July 26, 2021
A small month that has only one definite winner unless you like detectives - Suisei Ginka . Clephas agreed with such choice. Micchi prefers Ouka Sabaki , Shugaten! -sugarfull tempering- and some imouto nukige.

Prism Princess ~Futari no Himekishi to Kokan no Monshou~ プリズム・プリンセス ~ふたりの姫騎士と股間の紋章~[Pajamas Soft]

July 24, 2021
Foreword: Third review in a row, huh. I just had footages done beforehand. Prism Princess is a booby action with some animated H scenes which wound usually instantly put game out of my interest zone. But it has fighting heroines, plus humor is reported to be worthy, so why not check it myself. Wanted to change game several times, but found nothing to replace it within a year.

Shoujo Shin'iki ∽ Shoujo Tengoku 少女神域∽少女天獄 -The Garden of Fifth Zoa- [Lass]

July 22, 2021
Foreword: Shoujo Shin'iki has some English reviews already, but they tend to focus on negative sides  (1 2 3) even though game deserves better.
 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates