VN of the Month June 2014 - Semiramis no Tenbin

May 11, 2021
Semiramis no Tenbin is VN of the Month and Reminiscence Re:Collect is a solid choice for those who played prequel. Clephas did not highlight any other titles, and I failed to find anything appealing enough as well. Micchi actually found three more - Koi ga Saku Koro Sakura doki , Re;Lord ~Helford no Majo to Nuigurumi~ and even Lilium x Triangle .

VN of the Month May 2014 - Houkago no Futekikakusha

May 09, 2021
Houkago no Futekikakusha is VN of the Month with Sakigake ⇒ Generation! as another decent game. That's exactly how Clephas considered, and with so few releases in May there's little room for discovery. Micchi in addition to Clochette title has expectations for Majo Koi Nikki and Haruka Kanata.

VN of the Month April 2014 - Racial Merge

May 07, 2021
Racial Merge is the only masterpiece of the month for me as I can at least enjoy it as a comedy. Clephas had to turn down all the candidates. Micchi pulls out another tremendous list of seven titles among which are PRETTY×CATION , Sora Tobu Hitsuji to Manatsu no Hana , Natsukoi High Pressure , Love Sweets , delayed titles and a fandisc.

VN of the Month March 2014 - Endless Dungeon

May 05, 2021
VN of the Month is Endless Dungeon with other masterpieces being Hikoukigumo no Mukougawa and Hello Lady! . Clephas nominated the last two. Micchi pulls out a ridiculous list of seven titles including additional Clover Day’s , Doko no Donata no Kanjou Route , Koisuru Natsu no Last Resort, fandisc and delayed ones.

VN of the Month February 2014 - Soushuu Senshinkan Gakuen Hachimyoujin

May 03, 2021
Soushuu Senshinkan Gakuen Hachimyoujin is VN of the month. Other masterpieces include Baka Moe Heart ni Ai o Komete! and Koi Suru Doll to Omoi no Kiseki ~Poupee de Souhaits~ . Clephas empathized the last one among the three. Micchi in addition to Koi Suru Doll does not mind playing Otonari Koi Sensou and fandiscs.

VN of the Month January 2014 - Bradyon Veda

May 01, 2021
Bradyon Veda is beyond reach in January. Clephas tried to choose a game that is good for everyone, so stopped at Sekai to Sekai no Mannaka de . Other nice choices are  Kimi to Boku to no Kishi no Hibi -Rakuen no Chevalier- and 12 no Tsuki no Eve . Micchi also feels for Melty Moment and Kiss Ato

Noblelige! ノーブルリージュ! [Mana]

April 29, 2021
Foreword: I seriously neglected this game as a light novel short spin-off from an obscure maker. And guess what - it was a shocking blast akin to XBlaze Code: Embryo

VN of the Year 2013

April 27, 2021
Year 2013 exceeded my expectations. I was able to choose as many as 34 masterpieces, even one more than in fruitful 2012. Surprisingly, there's a better selection of chuunige as well - industry is absolutely alive and kicking. However, now it's truly the last year of abundance - sneak peek into 2014 shows the number of masterpieces being in the mid twenties. Visual Novel Openings 2013 . 

VN of the Month December 2013 - Sengoku † Koihime ~Otome Kenran ☆ Sengoku Emaki~

April 25, 2021
Sengoku † Koihime ~Otome Kenran ☆ Sengoku Emaki~ and Timepiece Ensemble are masterpieces of the month. Clephas liked the first one more. Micchi likes the second one, plus Magicalic⇔Sky High

VN of the Month November 2013 - Electro Arms -Realize Digital Dimension-

April 23, 2021
Electro Arms -Realize Digital Dimension- is VN of the month. Other masterpieces include HHG Megami no Shuuen and Izayoi no Fortuna . Clephas seemed to have the same favorites. Micchi instead prefers Sakura Mau Otome no Rondo , Imouto no Okage de Motesugite Yabai and Amatarasu Riddle Star

VN of the Month October 2013 - Getsuei Gakuen -kou-

April 21, 2021
What a small number of new releases. Getsuei Gakuen -kou- is the only game that catches the eye for me, though including it might be not fair as its Windows version came only couple years later. Clephas chose fandisc of Walkure Romanze. Micchi likes Cocoro@Function and Chiisana Kanojo no Serenade

VN of the Month September 2013 - Yume ka Utsutsu ka Matryoshka

April 19, 2021
I choose Yume ka Utsutsu ka Matryoshka as VN of the Month. Chephas hesitated between the two, but chose Karumaruka * Circle . Micchi adds Ichiban Ja Nakya Dame Desu ka and some imouto nukige to his set of interests.

VN of the Month August 2013 - Innocent Bullet -The False World-

April 17, 2021
There aren't masterpieces this month for me. But if I still had to choose, I'd probably point at Innocent Bullet -The False World- . Clephas decided not to choose anything. Zen picks Aozora Stripe and fandiscs while Micchi adds Hoshi no Ne Sanctuary and PriministAr to already tremendous wishlist.

VN of the Month July 2013 - XBlaze Code: Embryo

April 15, 2021
XBlaze Code: Embryo is VN of the Month for me due to personal reasons. Other masterpieces are 
Seihou no Prismgear and Tojita Sekai no Tori Colony . Clephas liked the last one and also Otome Riron to Sono Shuuhen -Ecole de Paris- . Micchi in addition to Otome Riron is interested in Amairo*IsleNauts and Gleamgarden no Shoujo.

VN of the Month June 2013 - Gensou no Idea ~Oratorio Phantasm Historia~

April 13, 2021

Gensou no Idea ~Oratorio Phantasm Historia~ is my choice for the month with another great titles being Kimi to Kanojo to Kanojo no Koi. and Futagoza no Paradox . Clephas backed the last one back then and also Natsukumo Yururu which is too loli to even consider for me. Micchi throws four more colorful titles in.

Astelight Trilogy 星継駅擾乱譚 / 星継駅年代史 / 星継駅疾走軌 [raiL-soft]

April 11, 2021
Foreword: I know I'm supposed to be finally reviewing Second Novel, but I give up. It has heavy gameplay elements and I'm stuck there at some point even with walkthrough, so I probably need to waste 10 more hours brute-forcing it, which I totally don't intend to do. Wanted to record at least short stories, but they aren't in the form of visual novel - just scanned light novels or whatever in vertical format and manual page flipping, no text hooking for them. As for Astelight games,I recorded all of them in just one day (and a week more for copyright clearing), so it's a breather compared to the horrible mess of Second Novel.

VN of the Month May 2013 - Grisaia no Rakuen

April 09, 2021
With PSP titles there are over 20 normal releases in May. I doubt anything can overshadow finale of Grisaia no Rakuen . Jesus 13th -Ushinawareta Gakuen- , Reminiscence , Tsukiakari Lunch and ChuSinGura 46+1 make fantastic debuts. Clephas highlighted Reminiscence . Micchi adds Magical Charming and Yumekoi to the mix and Zen among others seems to follow Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica F .

VN of the Month April 2013 - Shoujo Shin'iki ~ Shoujo Tengoku -The Garden of Fifth Zoa-

April 07, 2021
Shoujo Shin'iki ~ Shoujo Tengoku -The Garden of Fifth Zoa- is the only thing that stands out in April for me. Clephas featured Windows release of Yaneura no Kanojo . Micchi in addition promotes Hitotsu Tobashi Ren'ai , Unmei Yohou o Oshirase Shimasu and even dating sim LOVELY×CATION2

VN of the Month March 2013 - Himawari no Kyoukai to Nagai Natsuyasumi

April 05, 2021

Himawari no Kyoukai to Nagai Natsuyasumi is my choice for March, another nice one is Lovesick Puppies -Bokura wa Koi Suru Tame ni Umaretekita- . Clephas backed the second one. Micchi actually supports both of those, plus Ryuusei☆Kiseki -SHOOTING PROBE-

VN of the Month February 2013 - Komorebi no Nostalgica

April 03, 2021
Komorebi no Nostalgica is VN of the Month. Hapymaher , Boku ga Tenshi ni Natta Wake ,  Kara no Shoujo - The Second Episode are also good choice. Clephas thought highly at least of first three. Zen also expects a lot from the last one, and Micchi seems to be a fan of Pastel Chime franchise while Prism◇Recollection fills his cuteness meter this month.

VN of the Month January 2013 - Natsu no Owari no Nirvana

April 01, 2021

Traditional January with just 6 normal releases. Natsu no Owari no Nirvana is VN of the Month while Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai is also good within its genre. Clephas had the same favorite. Micchi likes Shiro no Pikapika Ohoshi-sama in addition to Daitoshokan no Hitsujikai

VN of the Year 2012

March 30, 2021
Year 2012 is probably the last great year, at least it looks like that to me now. Extended list of masterpieces includes as many as 33 titles this time which is more than ever. But at the same time private stories more and more substitute epic stories, so I actually have trouble choosing one representing the year. Visual Novel Openings 2012 as usual. 

VN of the Month December 2012 - Fata morgana no Yakata

March 28, 2021
December expectedly attracts many publishers and can boast of such masterpieces as Gun Knight Girl , Kimi e Okuru, Sora no Hana and Fata morgana no Yakata . Micchi is also interested in such lovey-dovey titles as Ima Sugu Onii-chan ni Imouto Datte Iitai, Kanojo to Ore to Koibito to and Natsuzora no Perseus while Zen for once also finds something to play - Ourai no Ghakthun and a fandisc.

VN of the Month November 2012 - Aete Mushi Suru Kimi to no Mirai ~Relay Broadcast~

March 26, 2021

Aete Mushi Suru Kimi to no Mirai ~Relay Broadcast~ is VN of the month, and Kono Sekai no Mukou de is another masterpiece. Mitchi favors Witch’s Garden and Kurano-kunchi no Futago Jijou

VN of the Month October 2012 - Chuuning Lover

March 24, 2021

Can point out only Chuuning Lover this month, and Chuunibyou topic flourishes with the anime airing. Micchi , on the other hand, has lots of appealing works like Koiiro Marriage , Shukufuku no Kane no Oto wa, Sakurairo no Kaze to Tomo ni , Tsuki ni Yorisou .

VN of the Month September 2012 - Zero Infinity -Devil of Maxwell-

March 22, 2021
Zero Infinity -Devil of Maxwell- is VN of the month with Re:birth Colony -Lost Azurite- , SINCLIENT and Tsukumo no Kanade ~Kaketsuki no Yasoukyoku~ rivaling it. Zen was also interested in Tsujidou-san no Junai Road while Micchi unexpectedly adds Tsuisou no Augment to the area of interest alongside expected LOVELY QUEST and Pure Girl

VN of the Month August 2012 - Tokyo Babel

March 20, 2021
Tokyo Babel is VN of the Month while I also acknowledge Rose Guns Days as a masterpiece. Micchi is interested in Sakura, Sakimashita, some fandisc and some imoutoge

VN of the Month July 2012 - Tiny Dungeon ~Brave or Slave~

March 18, 2021
So far can only call Tiny Dungeon ~Brave or Slave~ and Astelight Jourantan a masterpiece, and in second case in advance for the series, so not going to extend evaluation to sequels. Micchi finds a lot of imouto games to play this month. 

VN of the Month June 2012 - Gurenka

March 16, 2021
There are as many as four masterpieces for me in June - Gurenka , Root Double -Before Crime * After Days- , Astraythem , Dolphin Divers . With a difficult choice like this I just go for the preferred genre, so it is Gurenka. Zen supports my choice and also suggests Namima no Kuni no Faust while Micchi seeks cuteness in Hatsukoi 1/1 and 1/2 summer

VN of the Month May 2012 - Kono Oozora ni, Tsubasa o Hirogete

March 14, 2021
There are no masterpieces this month. I feel deep aversion towards flight clubs, but if I was forced to choose among these variants, Kono Oozora ni, Tsubasa o Hirogete would still win by the sheer quality. It's also backed by Zen while Micchi prefers Supipara and Shiawase Kazoku-bu

Evolimit エヴォリミット [Propeller]

March 12, 2021
Foreword: It's always nice to read a work with a fresh concept

VN of the Month April 2012 - Kouyoku no Soleil -vii’s World-

March 10, 2021
April is busy as usual even without couple nukige skipped by me. Kouyoku no Soleil -vii’s World- is the only game that I acclaim as masterpiece. Zen is justly fascinated by Mahoutsukai no Yoru, but I have a difficult history with this game and I loathe it. Micchi is dying for D.C.III and lots of other sweet stuff that I avoid listing in fear of getting diabetes. 

VN of the Month March 2012 - '&' - Sora no Mukou de Sakimasu you ni -

March 08, 2021
There are two masterpieces - Otome ga Tsumugu Koi no Canvas and '&' - Sora no Mukou de Sakimasu you ni - , but my personal preference leans to second one. By the way, one is supported by Zen and the other one by Micchi . They also anticipate Dracu-Riot and some other stuff.

VN of the Month February 2012 - Shinigami no Testament ~menuet of epistula~

March 06, 2021
I'll name Hatsuyuki Sakura , Grisaia no Meikyuu are Shinigami no Testament ~menuet of epistula~ as masterpieces with chunige taking over. Both Zen and Micchi support first two choices and also Tsukumo no Tsuki

VN of the Month January 2012 - Maji de Watashi ni Koishinasai! S

March 04, 2021
Just 7 titles... but at least we've got Maji de Watashi ni Koishinasai! S . Zen sees eye to eye with me while Micchi craves for fandisc and Dousei LoverAble

VN of the Year 2011

March 02, 2021
Year 2011 is a hurricane of great titles. My initial pick contained 20 masterpieces, but had to widen this selection up to 28 with some additional feedback since I can't sample it all on my own at the moment and there are genres I just can't force myself to play. Visual Novel Openings 2011 with songs just because. 

VN of the Month December 2011 - Hotel.

February 28, 2021
Hotel. is the only masterpiece for me in December. Micchi highlights some RPG and - naturally - a game about 345 imoutos

Ouka Sengoku! ~Nobunaga-chan no Koishite Yabou!?~ 桜花センゴク!~信長ちゃんの恋して野望!?~ [Apricot]

February 26, 2021
Foreword: When I face Sengoku feminization in anime I facepalm and look away, but this setting was not as frequent back in the past, so it fascinates me to try and find that one source that impressed followers so much.

VN of the Month November 2011 - Yurikago yori Tenshi made

February 24, 2021
Yurikago yori Tenshi made is VN of the Month. Another notable masterpiece is Hanachirutani Sanjinkou . Legend Seven ~Shirayuki Hime to Shichinin no Eiyuu~ would also fit those who liked Schatten. Zen finds merit in Mareni writing while Micchi goes full-scale moe with Shunki Gentei Poco a Poco, Hare Tokidoki Otenki-ame and even Sonicomi.

VN of the Month October 2011 - Izuna Zanshinken

February 22, 2021
Izuna Zanshinken is VN of October. But I also see merit in Midori no Umi . Zen and Micchi promote these two games as well while also picking Renai 0 Kilometer and some fandisc.

VN of the Month September 2011 - Kajiri Kamui Kagura

February 20, 2021
There are over 20 games in September with masterpieces to cover everyone's tastes. Mirai Nostalgia is for nakige, Dunamis 15 for mystery, Kajiri Kamui Kagura for action, plus will decide on Code 18 status later as I want to play it absolutely blindly. Action game prevails for me, as usual. Zen agrees with me on the main favorites, plus features your diary. Micchi lists all kinds of moege with titles each more sugary than the other.

VN of the Month August 2011 - Diamic Days

February 18, 2021
Few normal titles get released during summer Comiket. Seriously, there's just one normal game Diamic Days that I don't accept as a masterpiece, and it wins by default as VN of the Month... Micchi supports this idea and tries to focus on doujins to fill the blanks.

VN of the Month July 2011 - Irotoridori no Sekai

February 16, 2021
Irotoridori no Sekai is VN of the month while Tenshi no Hane o Fumanaide is another worthy masterpiece. Micchi only wants moar imoutos from Sis Koi

VN of the Month June 2011 - Dengeki Stryker

February 14, 2021
I'm not fan of shounens, but Dengeki Stryker is fun enough to be VN of the Month. Sukimazakura to Uso no Machi is another masterpiece with a thrilling sophisticated concept. Micchi also favors the latter one, plus a delayed fandisc and Rewrite that I consider a huge fake.

Indigo [Hanpamania-Soft]

February 11, 2021
Foreword: It's an all-ages non-trivial setting doujin work of the best quality I ever seen by Watanabe Ryouichi. If that's not enough...

VN of the Month May 2011 - Vermilion -Bind of Blood-

February 10, 2021
Vermilion -Bind of Blood- does not have competitors in May, but Taiyou no Promia is also a well done game. I'll also name Koi de wa Naku - It's not Love, but so Where Near. a masterpiece just because it's an original concept providing food for thought. Can't nominate AXL game this time since I'm tired of  Hasegawa Ai writing when she does not come out of comfort zone presenting yet another different activity club story with too many heroines to make it special. Zen has similar favorites while Micchi is led astray by Hatsukoi Yohou , Kamikaze☆Explorer and even Henshin!

VN of the Month April 2011 - Aiyoku no Eustia

February 08, 2021
April benefits from titles delayed in March, but among 17 titles I can only acknowledge Aiyoku no Eustia for its detailed world and characters, although it's not the kind of game I can enojy. Micchi also empathizes a delayed title and some fandisc.

VN of the Month March 2011 - Onigokko!

February 06, 2021
A lot of titles got delayed till April, so we're sitting at 10 titles again just like in February. Onigokko! is the only masterpiece I acknowledge. Micchi basically only favors Onigokko and games that got delayed, so let's anticipate a hot April.

VN of the Month February 2011 - Grisaia no Kajitsu

February 04, 2021
I remember enjoying Grisaia no Kajitsu a long time ago even though nowadays Frontwing eternal greed for releasing series in episodes and inserting ads in their official channel and everyone else's channels makes me sick. Micchi favors Lover Able and some fandisc.

VN of the Month January 2011 - Bloody Rondo

February 02, 2021
Bloody Rondo is the only real deal in January. Zen supports this idea while Micchi sees this month as a slow start of the year with only fandisc and some moege looking appealing enough.

VN of the Year 2010

January 31, 2021
Year 2010 is as lively as ever. I don't think there was another such year where I was able to find at least one masterpiece in each month. The overall number 18 is slightly less, but it only shows the continuing tendency for increasing charage share, and I blocked quite a lot of charage from getting into masterpieces just because did not see a story-driven plot or some spark. There even was one 10/10 game for me, and that does not come often. Visual Novel Openings 2010 with songs just because I still into openings. And I seriously hate it when openings are interrupted with ads, so I try to cut out all such tracks from playlist, like Rewrite opening. And you know what - the same few companies demand ads insertion in their property everywhere. And they are such cheapskates that even monetize their own official channel openings, as if customers attraction is not enough. Basically, they are so greedy to insert ads inside ads. Here is a list of those shameful companies that I noticed so far and am going to hate even more - Key, Frontwing, Leaf. Shame upon you, cheapskates.
My list of masterpieces in 2010:
  1. Akatsuki no Goei ~Tsumibukaki Shuumatsuron~
  2. Comsome! ~Combination Somebody~
  3. Deardrops
  4. Evolimit
  5. Fortissimo//Akkord:Bsusvier
  6. Harukaze dori ni, Tomarigi o. 2nd Story ~Tsuki no Tobira to Umi no Kakera~
  7. Indigo
  8. Kashimashi Communication
  9. Ore no Tsure wa Hito de nashi
  10. Ouka Sengoku ~Nobunaga-chan no Koishite Yabou!?~
  11. Para-Sol
  12. Rune Lord
  13. Second Novel ~ Kanojo no Natsu, 15fun no Kioku~
  14. Subarashiki Hibi ~Furenzoku Sonzai~
  15. Tasogare no Sinsemilla
  16. Tsubasa o Kudasai
  17. Ushinawareta Mirai o Motomete
  18. White Album 2 ~Introductory Chapter~
Those who were following monthly issues already know the name of the game in 2010 that I evaluate as 10/10 - it's Subarashiki Hibi ~Furenzoku Sonzai~. I'm still somewhere in the mids of playing it, but after weird introductory chapter it's such a fast-paced and ever-thrilling narration I doubt I've seen anywhere before.

Since there is no poll this year, let me at least provide an update on the results of the previous poll. 10 versus 5 votes support the idea that no video version of playthrough is needed. And because of that I'm in no hurry to provide reviews. But at the same time I like it to have videos to check things afterwards or find answers to questions, to compare real game lengths, things like that. Unfortunately, there are very few services that are eager to provide space for that:
- Niconico limits number of videos to 50 for free users
- Vimeo no longer has free plans, it's basically just a hosting now
- Bilibili demands to answer some 100 otaku questions in Chinese with majority being correct ones to gain access.
- Youtube ... you know, minus two channels
- Dailymotion has severe limitations on upload, but it's the amateurishness that kills. All my 720p videos only show there as 380p, and things change only after support ticket resolution. Then comes new video and it's again 380p. For one game I need some 100 one-hour videos, I'm not going to address support 100 times. And according to users, it's a problem that persists for years without any solution.

One video playthrough on average takes 15gb of space, so with clouds I can backup like... 5. HDD is not the safest and cheapest option, plus I'd prefer it to be accessible. So I'm going with two variants - another youtube channel with BGM cut, plus video insertion inside blog post. Those videos should be no longer that 100 mb and no longer than 15 minutes to not take up cloud space, so there will be hundreds of videos under each review, and I can only hope that blog itself is not shut down because of those videos, because finding pretexts for closure without explanation is the thing Google excels at.

VN of the Month December 2010 - Ore no Tsure wa Hito de nashi

January 29, 2021
There are several notable works this month, but I'm only going to call Ore no Tsure wa Hito de nashi a masterpiece. Micchi lays hopes on Hello,good-bye that rather disappointed me, Akatoki with gameplay elements and some fandisc. 

VN of the Month November 2010 - Ushinawareta Mirai o Motomete

January 27, 2021
Ushinawareta Mirai o Motomete is the only masterpiece . Micchi is of the same opinion, but also with high hopes for Kicking Horse★Rhapsody

VN of the Month October 2010 - Ouka Sengoku ~Nobunaga-chan no Koishite Yabou!?~

January 25, 2021
I'd only call Ouka Sengoku ~Nobunaga-chan no Koishite Yabou!?~ a masterpiece this month since other candidates don't have strong enough story  component though can be great charage for someone. Since there aren't English reviews, I feel the need to make one eventually. Micchi calls October 2010 a "moe" month favoring two most prominent titles in this regards - Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate and Kisaragi GOLD★STAR

VN of the Month September 2010 - Fortissimo//Akkord:Bsusvier

January 23, 2021
Fortissimo//Akkord:Bsusvier in its EXA version is the only masterpiece of the month. Michi thinks alike while also highlighting one moege and some fandiscs.
 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates