Toki no Kairou 時の回廊 [White Cyc]

December 22, 2019
Foreword: Toki no Kairou wins marginally in the joint poll of the year. It's quite curious to see what White Cyc first game is like compared to games of the big brother Black Cyc.

VN of the Year 2005 and POLL for EXTRA review

December 17, 2019
Year 2005 was awesome. It's the golden age for plotge. Plots have become so diverse and complex that a lot more time is required to crack them up. My new approach to pick up all the titles I like doesn't help to move faster either. In addition, my base corresponds VNDB base of 2017, and it's time to synchronize. There are 230 new titles to add from 1980 till 2005, plus a dozen of old titles that I found out over time and finally can describe properly, let alone the need to refresh openings links. So Till January of 2020 there will only be Extra review of the year, then I'll be updating old articles. 1983 and 1984 years already received an update. 
New portion of Visual Novel Openings 2005 with songs.

Yatohime Zankikou 夜刀姫斬鬼行 [Terios]

December 15, 2019
Foreword: Yatohime Zankikou has an absolutely starry staff, great chuni story, astonishing visuals and lots of fighting girls. Everything promises the ultimate score, but why average scores are just between 7 and 8 then?

Aekanaru Sekai no Owari ni あえかなる世界の終わりに [Caramel Box]

December 06, 2019
Foreword: Finally a Caramel Box game with a plot that I can actually enjoy. But online RPG development took me by surprise, so I'm totally sold here.

Dragonia ドラゴニア [Hirameki International]

December 01, 2019
Foreword: Dragonia remains in obscurity while being localized. That's a strange situation, so I wanted to check why.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40ois_GrS5w&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8rKP5oDa1nzt0KevjFrmhw&index=31

VN of the Month December 2005 - Aekanaru Sekai no Owari ni

November 29, 2019
New December brings over 100 titles again. I consider Aekanaru Sekai no Owari ni  to be VN of the month, while Yatohime Zankikou and Yume Miru Kusuri are masterpieces. I'll review the first two as well as Dragonia

Terrible Future てりぶるフューチャー [CoreMoreco]

November 27, 2019
Foreword: I was choosing between a moege and a nakige in November, so just went for the first SF looking work which by chance turned out to be Terrible Future. I wish I chose anything over it, really, like anything.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2mluk-y9Bg&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9k1HWgnRrjgH1amhusrT-d

VN of the Month November 2005 - Sharin no Kuni, Himawari no Shoujo

November 24, 2019
Sharin no Kuni, Himawari no Shoujo is VN of the Month. Nursery Rhyme and Tomoyo After ~It's a Wonderful Life~ are masterpieces.  For some weird reason I chose Terrible Future for review.

AYAKASHI アヤカシ [Apricot]

November 21, 2019
Foreword: Could only find one small impression (1), and it covers main points. I'll try to provide some novelty by comparing the game with the anime version.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v25
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o19Xvg1cMhE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-J7-CHaWYlOWzwXgTG0uAE

Heaven's Cage ヘブンズケージ [Art]

November 18, 2019
Foreword: Heaven's Cage is a very curious find for me due to its fresh, uncommon view on MMORPG. It pleasantly surprised me on more than one occasion. Here are the results of this experience.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1355
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4rkHG8K-TE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_nMwz1VgZtn0zheAWpoWfO

VN of the Month October 2005 - Ayakashi

November 15, 2019
Memories Off #5 Togireta Film , Ayakashi and Heaven's Cage are masterpieces of the month, and I'm reviewing the latter two. The winner is Ayakashi. I refuse to acknowledge any spin-offs or sequels of Fate/Night like Fate/Hollow Ataraxia .

Gunjou no Sora o Koete 群青の空を越えて [light]

November 13, 2019
Foreword: Whenever a war story is covered, I always expect something like Saishuu Heiki Kanojo anime story. But in fact Gunjou no Sora o Koete is a normal charage in an unusual setting. There are enough good English reviews (1 2 3 4 5 6), so address them for a more favorable review. Game does not live up to my expectations, so I can't stop being critical about it.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1069
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxgPzBYzKUg&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-E2DXYizsP4bmQoMlHuSS3

VN of the Month September 2005 - Gunjou no Sora o Koete

November 10, 2019
Probably only Gunjou no Sora o Koete deserves to be called a masterpiece this month. Not really sure about Yoake Mae yori Ruri Iro na and Hanachirasu .

Saihate no Ima 最果てのイマ [Xuse]

November 08, 2019
Foreword: The reviews we have are pretty vague (1 2 3 4 5 6 7), so the impression of a very difficult work is created. I'm going to put all the dots so that there was not fear to read it.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1278
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyO6B82c_GE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9G-VbjOXlAvQZqm-u8F497

Tsuyokiss つよきす [Candy Soft]

October 31, 2019
Foreword: I took up Tsuyokiss blindly hoping for a decent charage akin to Majikoi (same writer and also girl with katana) due to the high score this game gets. Moege equals trash for me. With such a high vote Tsuyokiss can't be a moege, right?
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v397
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFHoqzMOFDY&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-zA1QgYUTcnldJqEqo1lT5

VN of the Month August 2005 - Saihate no Ima

October 29, 2019
Summer Comiket month still produces less than 100 VNs per month, but that does not make it easier. Saihate no Ima is the VN of the Month. Narcissu is another masterpiece. I'm reviewing both the winner and Tsuyokiss just to follow the trends of charage.

Tashika ni Kimi wa Koko ni Ita 確かにキミはココにいた -You were certainly here- [Undel]

October 27, 2019
Foreword: I just like everything that has to do MMO. Game has a curious enough concept. The only question is how it's going to be realized.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v5344
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2V6sLsNyHhw&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_IUvdEluOx80SPFgHQF99e

VN of the Month July 2005 - Swan Song

October 25, 2019
Swan Song is the only masterpiece of the month. Things may change as I review Tashika ni Kimi wa Koko ni Ita -You were certainly here- .

Jingai Makyou 塵骸魔京 [Nitroplus]

October 23, 2019
Foreword: Again, there are already enough English reviews of this game (1 2 3 4 5). But what I noticed is that the most thorough reviews are based on the Chinese version of the game by the speakers of Chinese language. My impression presents more of a Westerner approach.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v400
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mmQ92JtDpQ&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9MFhOSzB2n_xIyVbArHXgt

Ayakashibito あやかしびと [Propeller]

October 21, 2019
Foreword: This is a formal shameless review just to present a video and give score / personal impression. There is an abundance of reviews of this game in untranslated review sources (1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8), and I did not even include reviews in the translated review sources.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v646
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkfbKBF3PZE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8HOd7D19oHjX9NAj_dJRkF

VN of the Month June 2005 - Ayakashibito

October 19, 2019
Both Jingai Makyou and Ayakashibito deserve to be called masterpieces this month, and I'm reviewing both. But my personal preference goes towards the latter Ayakashibito

Tamayura 魂響 [Akabei Soft2]

October 17, 2019
Foreword: I'm quite excited to see the first professional Akabei Soft2 work after their doujin past as Akabei Soft. I'm mostly interested in the initial release of the game, so review will be based on that. I'll also compare initial release with the remake Enkan no Kizuna.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v85
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOJQFOpc5cs&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv93uWlEWyCml-A4kSkxsz4E

VN of the Month May 2005 - Princess Witches

October 15, 2019
Princess Witches is the only masterpiece this month. I'll review first Akabei Soft2 project Tamayura

Ojou-sama Kumikyoku お嬢様組曲 [Symphony]

October 12, 2019
Foreword: I only had to choose this game, because the only other somewhat curious game from April 2005 Gakuen Kaiketsu Kururi! turned out to have a horrible engine for auto-reading with voices getting constantly cut even with the latest patch, at least with win10. I want to ask sincere forgiveness from all those who like vanilla pure love visual novels. Depending on your likes, game can get even couple points more in the overall evaluation. I'm only conveying my sincere impression of this game even though I'm ill suited for that purpose.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v703
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j0yAzjfXI0&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9FMXe5w9pSH_a01QqO_8qb

VN of the Month April 2005 - Sanarara

October 10, 2019
Sanarara is the only masterpiece of the month. I'll try to hold back while reviewing Ojou-sama Kumikyoku

MERI+DIA ~マリアディアナ~ ~Maria Diana~ [Palette]

October 08, 2019
Foreword: I liked character designs and wide use of weapons first of all. The story looked promising. Palette is also a notable player on the visual novel scene. I ignored its first clumsy works, but it's high time for it to make a stand.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v2921
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pI4V5pl8mts&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8VGk_kffrtrok065Qddm24

VN of the Month March 2005 - Parfait ~Chocolat Second Brew~

October 06, 2019
Parfait ~Chocolat Second Brew~ is the only masterpiece this month. I'll try to find some merit in the less known game MERI+DIA ~Maria Diana~

Seven-Bridge [Liar-soft]

October 04, 2019
Foreword: Liar-soft games are always absurd and somewhat fun, but of varying quality. Seven-Bridge actually has the same scenario writer as Kusarihime ~Euthanasia~ (at least one of the three authors) , so I see all the reasons to give it a bite.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v597
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdLAzm2uTvw&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8rKP5oDa1nzt0KevjFrmhw&index=30&t=0s

Steel [Graviton]

October 02, 2019
Foreword: I never expected a 80 hour long race out of this "episodic" story. How much time should pass till opening? What about length of the epilogue? Should there be some lines after the final credits? Believe me, Steel will surprise you with each answer. I knew that scenario from Kadokura Keisuke would be enjoyable. But it took me a full week to be able to digest it.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v6416
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5Nc368AlSs&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9jHMWwIIkzFPiTpLJ-eMP7

Abandoner - The Severed Dreams [Unknown]

September 22, 2019
Foreword: Abandoner is the second winner of poll for the extra review in 2004. There are actually two reviews already (1 2), but it does not hurt to give it a fresh look. Clephas recommends not to read this visual novel unless we are really hard masochists, but every visual novel reader is at least a bit of masochist for reading such long stories while normal people can't endure even director's cut movie versions. As for me, such question does not even stand - it's enough to look at the number of visual novels I played without really enjoying them. So let's start.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1182
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7eGicIWOOlw&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_qT6p_Y5f1XbwJYUu2TCCe

3days ~Michiteyuku Toki no Kanata de~ ~満ちてゆく刻の彼方で~ [Lass]

September 19, 2019
Foreword: It's requested as extra review, so I'm pleased to tell what kind of masterpiece this game is. It does not mean I'm not reviewing Abandoner, though. Both games stood so close in the poll that I could not make my mind in any way.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1085
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDJG1UQavYg&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-73f48qzUpNIceFnIA8Mot

VN of the Month February 2005 - Steel

September 16, 2019
I consider only Steel to be the only masterpiece as of now. But things may change as I review both Steel and Seven-Bridge

Answer Dead [Le.Chocolat]

September 13, 2019
Foreword: Protagonist looks cool and badass, so I hope for a worthy chunige.
Title: Answer Dead
Developer: Le.Chocolat
Date: 2005-01-14
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v1903
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2A2CAW3OmY&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_iAzf5N3n7qQx-aG-JlXpl

Tenshi no Nichou Kenjuu 天使ノ二挺拳銃 -Angelos Armas- [Nitroplus]

September 10, 2019
Foreword: I could not ignore Nitroplus work, especially one without reviews.
Date: 2005-01-28
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v429
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcC4Wki3bo8&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-rllhpCe9B1ueL5w0Uubdn

VN of the Month January 2005 - Tenshi no Nichou Kenjuu -Angelos Armas-

September 07, 2019
Tenshi no Nichou Kenjuu -Angelos Armas- is the only masterpiece of the month. But too many plotge reside without reviews this month, so - surprise - I'm picking a second game for review as well - it's Answer Dead

VN of the Year 2004 and POLL for EXTRA review

September 05, 2019
Year 2004 pleasantly surprised me with the number and especially quality of visual novels.
New portion of Visual Novel Openings 2004 with songs.

Eigou Kaiki 永劫回帰 [D.O.]

September 03, 2019
Foreword: I could not pass by such curious looking chunige.
Title: Eigou Kaiki
Developer: D.O.
Date: 2004-12-17
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v9790
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7GfYjxdQ7Y&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9HwGDuJtaW_7Xb7oD2dWge

VN of the Month December 2004 - To Heart 2

September 01, 2019
I believe it's the first time when the number of games in one month exceeds a hundred - 108, to be more precise! And this month can boast of multiple masterpieces - Eigou Kaiki , Sorairo no Shizuku , Peace@Pieces and To Heart 2 . Can't say I'm excited about plotge of the month, so I'm giving the first prize to To Heart 2.

Ano Sora no Mukougawa あの空の向こう側 [High Soft]

August 30, 2019
Foreword: Game interested me with its concept of parallel universe.
Title: Ano Sora no Mukougawa
Developer: High Soft
Date: 2004-11-26
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v1212
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1sFJZ_BWLw&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_VZRGzArVahzwnVXBEy7Gu

VN of the Month November 2004 - Planetarian ~Chiisana Hoshi no Yume~

August 28, 2019
This month does not have masterpieces. I did not like the game and the anime, but there's nothing to choose from this month, so ok, Planetarian ~Chiisana Hoshi no Yume~ will pass for now. I will review the game with an interesting concept - Ano Sora no Mukougawa

Yuuhi no Mukougawa 夕緋ノ向コウ側 [BaseSon]

August 26, 2019
Foreword: I'm quite curious about BaseSon state before they rode the Koihime theme.
Title: Yuuhi no Mukougawa
Developer: BaseSon
Date: 2004-10-01
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v1213
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IaPkM9uZLZM&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9P6w6Jmc3aamggcIEP8eAZ

VN of the Month October 2004 - Akai Ito

August 24, 2019
Akai Ito is the only masterpiece of the month. I'll continue exploring earlier BaseSon works with a review of Yuuhi no Mukougawa

Noel [FlyingShine]

August 22, 2019
Foreword: It's FlyingShine in its prime, after Cross Channel and before Swan Song, so why not taste one more bit of it. But it's action scenes and not yuri that keeps my interest here. 
Title: Noel
Developer: FlyingShine
Date: 2004-09-24
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v1000
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9ULLAtemM4&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_enAwLmfohExhIgVI2CClL

VN of the Month September 2004 - Abandoner - The Severed Dreams

August 18, 2019
Abandoner - The Severed Dreams is the winner this month, but since it has a review I'm picking up more obscure Noel for review.

Koijibashi こいじばし [Raccoon]

August 16, 2019
Foreword: Well, I just liked the cover - looked like today's charming covers. 
Title: Koijibashi
Developer: Raccoon
Date: 2004-08-13
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v4247
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WN2JN8bkyZk&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-YnknXUNJpQwDtOqLsGr9p

VN of the Month August 2004 - Sorauta

August 14, 2019
Sorauta is the only masterpiece of this Comiket month. Whenever I've no strong preference, I just choose something looking fine and without a review. This month I'm going to review Koijibashi .

Dear My Friend [light]

August 12, 2019
Foreword: This is going to a slightly unusual review, because I'm going to totally ignore main three heroines and focus solely on two side heroines because of Masada scenario writing and uniqueness of these two heroines compared to conventional ones.
Title: Dear My Friend
Developer: light
Date: 2004-07-09
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v519
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KvEtF1Nh89A&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-vEHq8MQwNWKJi9NyRbYch

VN of the Month July 2004 - Dear My Friend

August 08, 2019
There are no plotge this month. If I am to choose among charage and moege, I'd get one with good text. Dear My Friend is my choice for scenario written by Masada (for two heroines). And just by chance it's the only masterpiece of the month.

MinDeaD BlooD ~支配者の為の狂死曲~ ~Shihaisha no Tame no Kyoushikyoku~ [Black Cyc]

August 06, 2019
Foreword: There are a lot of praising reviews of this untranslated game (1 2 3), which was a great surprise for me. Are we really observing a great mistreated masterpiece in this case?
Title: MinDeaD BlooD ~Shihaisha no Tame no Kyoushikyoku~
Developer: Black Cyc
Date: 2004-06-11
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v1060
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hr5YBK4CASw&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8DxlQByl9ojtAByJ-gdpN6

VN of the Month June 2004 - 3days ~Michiteyuku Toki no Kanata de~

August 03, 2019

 3days ~Michiteyuku Toki no Kanata de~ is VN of the Month. I'm intrigued by positive reviews of MinDeaD BlooD ~Shihaisha no Tame no Kyoushikyoku~ . I'm going to review it and develop an  opinion on it.

DINGIR(ディンギル) [Patisserie]

August 01, 2019
Foreword: Only chose Dingir as the only plotge of the month.
Title: Dingir
Developer: Patisserie
Date: 2004-05-21
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v204
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdYk3gR_Mgc&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8rKP5oDa1nzt0KevjFrmhw&index=29

VN of the Month May 2004 - Carnival

July 29, 2019
Carnival is the VN of the month, but I already have review of it. I'm reviewing Dingir as the only plotge of the month.

Realize リアライズ [PlayM]

July 25, 2019
Foreword: This perfect game made me re-evaluate... Coμ -Black Dragon in a Gentle Kingdom-. What do these games have to do with each other? Hop in to figure out.
Title: Realize
Developer: PlayM
Date: 2004-04-23
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v2025
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IChpMO4Jhz4&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_Z8T8hfm3788JmL-mH3l3m

VN of the Month April 2004 - Realize

July 21, 2019

Realize is the biggest surprise and win of the month. I'd also call Uminomichi a masterpiece. And no, I hate Clannad too much to enroll it here.

Routes [Leaf]

July 19, 2019
Foreword: Routes gets 5 votes cumulatively while closest rival sits at 3 votes, so here is review  of this game.
Title: Routes
Developer: Leaf
Date: 2003-02-28
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v204
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sV1wg2BZOpM&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8K_WdeDpxSgGZzjGORqw_b

Sora-iro no Organ 空色の風琴 [The Lotus]

July 17, 2019
Foreword: I got on the hook of some reviews praising the story. Now I'm mad.
Title: Sora-iro no Organ
Developer: The Lotus
Date: 2004-03-26
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v962
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iX7seUlNpmE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8-QvoBMKw8KIUTf1tEqOdw

VN of the Month March 2004 - Remember11 -The Age of Infinity-

July 15, 2019
Remember11 -The Age of Infinity- is VN of the Month. Symphonic Rain is an honorary masterpiece. I got tempted by Japanese reviews praising story of Sora-iro no Organ , so I took it for review.

Schrei-Ten [Pisckiss]

July 13, 2019
Foreword: I awaited a high fantasy story with very mature and curious looking characters. What I got was...
Title: Schrei-Ten
Developer: Pisckiss
Date: 2004-02-20
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v14455
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3bALNSl9Nk&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8rKP5oDa1nzt0KevjFrmhw&index=28

VN of the Month February 2004 - Forest

July 11, 2019
Forest is the only masterpiece of the month. I'm choosing lesser known Schrei-Ten for review.

Paradise Lost [light]

July 09, 2019
Foreword: I just could not pass by without seeing with my own eyes one of the best cyberpunk'ish visual novels.
Title: Paradise Lost
Developer: light
Date: 2004-01-16
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v1951
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9UUudO0wufPK3KqL-YaTUD
Synopsis: Paradise Lost takes off in a dystopian setting that comes off as much more blatantly dark than its successors’. The stage is in a city known only as Sodom, which is separated from the outside world known as “Zoar”. Ruled by the gang known as the Infinite Viper, the law of “the strong eat the weak” is rampant throughout Sodom to the point that if you’ve lived beyond the age of 20, you most likely have murdered someone in order to do so. It is widely believed that outside lies a peaceful world free of the everyday violence so frequently seen in Sodom, but there is a closely guarded Gate that prevents residents of Sodom from leaving so no one has actually left and returned to confirm.

Game type: Dystopia epic confrontation
Character Design rating: 10/10
Protagonist rating: 10/10
Story rating: 10/10
Game quality: 10/10
Overall rating: 10/10
Rating comments: Game has few perfect ratings, and I really tried to find any flaws in it as well. But I could not find any. I absolutely love all the protagonist, heroines and even side-characters. Story is second-to-none and without any fillers. Quality hits over the roof for me. 

Protagonist: Ryle is totally awesome with his split personality and coolness, but I was worried about Know a lot after reading reviews on the game. He was described as a jerk associating with the worst moments of the game. That's partly true, but Know is not a one-sided character. He's a kind-hearted loving brother in the beginning of the game. He is reflexing about having to lose his left hand to buy food. When he is put into conditions to lose his right arm, he's at the brink of despair. He's so weak, but he chooses to protect Sophia and Ril even at the cost of his life - and only miracles save him several times. Masada writing manages to imbue Know with a lot of empathy which colors his less rational actions with different shades of grey.
Characters: All three heroines are charming and possess a unique story of survival in this unpredictable world. But side-characters and enemies also make this game shine. Ennis appearance makes every scene better. Moral choices and hesitations of Lilith make this heartless scientist feel alive. It's rare to meet such charismatic (and voiced!) negative character as Judas Strife. 

Story: The only thing I want so say about the story is that it's fast-paced, breathtaking and without fillers. Each chapter has its title which seems a bit off from the start, but each chapter manages to perfectly describe its meaning.
Prologue
The 1st. God Forsaken Sodom
The 2nd. A Contest For Belzebub .
The Intermission. Criminal Fire Works.
The 3rd. Guilty Guilty Guilty
The Final. God Save The Zoar
The Final Godless A God Knows
Thoughts:
1) One of the best features of the game is sex scenes filled with talk and meaning. And it's not just one Ast blowjob scene. Half of H events are made this way, so I feel sorry I have to cut them out of the video. I only encountered this feature in Coμ so far, and it really adds up to the evaluation.
2) I only know Dies Irae by the anime so far, but I'm sure that Paradise Lost is its spiritual predecessor. It has a lot of God motives as well concept of an omnipotent Deity messing with lowly creatures fates.

Overall comments: This is the first Masada game that I've read.  I'll try to play every game where he has something to do with the concept or writing.

VN of the Month January 2004 - Paradise Lost

July 07, 2019
Paradise Lost and Fate/Stay Night are the only masterpieces of the month, but Paradise Lost wins almost almost in every field in comparison.

VN of the Year 2003 and POLL for EXTRA review

July 05, 2019
Year 2003 proved to be profound in every way. Great variety of masterpieces suiting everyone's taste.
New portion of Visual Novel Openings 2003 with songs.

Gin no Hebi Kuro no Tsuki 銀の蛇 黒の月 [Project-μ]

July 03, 2019
Foreword: My first thought was that berserk was remade as a visual novel. How is it even possible that such game remains in obscurity?
Title: Gin no Hebi Kuro no Tsuki
Developer: Project-μ
Date: 2003-12-19
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v10059
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MpnPjFUxVuQ&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8rKP5oDa1nzt0KevjFrmhw&index=27

VN of the Month December 2003 - Saya no Uta

July 01, 2019

December equals flood of visual novels, and for once in a while of good quality. Saya no Uta is unrivaled VN of the month. Konata yori Kanata made makes for another masterpiece. I'm reviewing the mysterious Gin no Hebi Kuro no Tsuki

Kurenai 紅 [light]

June 29, 2019
Foreword: Setting, guns and blood were the things that attracted me.
Title: Kurenai
Developer: light
Date: 2003-11-14
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v5367
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHAT2UfXhxM&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_1zimd4jO7eJ4LHc5DnPcj
Synopsis: The world is breaking apart. City is full of suicides, murders and bizarre crimes. City is full of shadows, and main character hunts down such "crimson shadows" that used to be persons. His abilities are trained by a woman of a mysterious identity. Love only exists in fragmentary form in this eternal whirlpool of death.

Game type: Err... bloody?
Character Design rating: 6/10
Protagonist rating: 6/10
Story rating: 7/10
Game quality: 7/10
Overall rating: 7/10
Rating comments: I spent quite some time deciding on how much I like his game. The first and second chapters were really impressive, of masterpiece level. Next three chapters lowered overall estimation. But final 6th chapter remained true to itself and managed to surprise me - for that I want to give it its due. And that's especially notable because of overall weak plot and characters in the game. Kurenai manages to find other approaches to the reader.
Protagonist: We get to see Touya, and we only know that he's a student and a kurenai hunter who fights with a bamboo sword. We also constantly read his thoughts - or rather someone's stream of consciousness. It sometimes falls into philosophy and sometimes into madness category, but it remains amusing to read.
Characters: Nominally there are four heroines - found doll Alice, detective partner Mutsuki and two acquaintances Yuri and Himeno. But Alice is definitely the main heroine here - she's also the only one who gets two endings instead of just one. I've actually only seen her two endings since discovering other heroines is quite confusing in this game as it needs backtracking. I tried to do it once and I failed, so just settled with the main heroine. All heroines but Alice and Mutsuki only make a cameo appearance and are absolutely not memorable. Basically all the heroines have almost the same face, and that does not help either. Alice is a doll who we find on the street. She is loyal to main character as her goshuji-sama. She's the only fighting heroine. She seems to be of such simple personality that last chapter of the game becomes shocking.
Story: There's not much happening in the game, actually. In first chapter we get in our first fight and find doll Alice on the street. In the following chapters there's usually one main perpetrator Kurenai that we need to take down. In the third chapter we get from the streets to the school and meet a whole lot of heroines. Not sure we need school at all in this kind of game. These chapters pay less attention to fights and more attention to spontaneous H events. And I call them spontaneous, because it happens exactly like that. There is no love line or flirt or anything at all. Just at any moment of the narration some girl may instantly get horny, and 10 lines after that there's H event, easy as that. I understand the need of H events for a game to sell, so I actually welcome such approach. This way we don't need to waste time for love. I cut all the H events from the video, and game only became better after that.
Thoughts:
1) I mentioned that this game has other means of attractiveness besides traditional ones. The first is the stream of thoughts. Both philosophy and madness are mixed here. I'd really rather read such thoughts as time fillers instead of some lovey dovey pursuits. The second one is the number of efforts given. Game has FOUR different omake with the last one divided in five parts. The third thing I'd mark is Alice scary monologues. I'm still under impression here, scary as hell.
2) I liked that we get the answers in this game. One strange thing is how protagonist even manages to survive and recover with such serious wounds. His limbs barely remain linked to the body, but in the next scene he's all right again. And game actually gives a very elegant explanation to that later. For the whole game we try to uncover what it means to be Kurenai. We don't get a clear answer, but we get more than just an answer.
Overall comments: This game remains memorable and alive for me. It's quite simple in structure, but impactful. Game is about blood, and it remains true to itself. Heroine's True End does not mean it's a good end, it's just another ending about blood. Blood is main character of this game, and that's what makes it absolutely hilarious. Game is crazy, but rather crazy good than crazy bad like BM0.

VN of the Month November 2003 - Kurenai

June 27, 2019

Clover Heart's , Eien no Aselia -The Spirit of Eternity Sword- and Yukizakura can all be considered masterpieces from certain angles, but they can't beat a real violent story Kurenai

Ochiba no Mau Koro 落ち葉の舞う頃 [Noa]

June 25, 2019
Foreword: Sword apprentice protagonist and two fighting heroines (short swords and bow) were all that it took to lure me to this game.
Title: Ochiba no Mau Koro
Developer: Noa
Date: 2003-10-24
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v5367
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuf4kv1b9hg&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv--j9jctcdQ0zRtWU4dw7pU

VN of the Month October 2003 - Lovers ~Koi ni Ochitara...

June 23, 2019

Most of the candidates already got an English review, so I'm choosing the one with the most swordplay Ochiba no Mau Koro . I guess Lovers ~Koi ni Ochitara... is the only game worthy of masterpiece status this month.

Thanatos no Koi ~Inshitei Soukan~ タナトスの恋~淫姉弟相姦~ [Red Label]

June 21, 2019
Foreword: I only picked this game because it has no reviews and scenario writer is Kanno Hiroyuki. Just can't believe he can write some total crap.

VN of the Month - September 2003 - Cross†Channel

June 19, 2019

Cross†Channel is VN of the Month. Tenshi no Inai 12-gatsu is among masterpieces as well. I'm choosing Thanatos no Koi ~In Ane Otouto Soukan~ for review.

Salem no Majo-tachi セイレムの魔女たち [rúf]

June 17, 2019
Foreword: It looked like a semi-historical plot-centered game, so why not sample it, really.
Title: Salem no Majo-tachi
Developer: Daiginjou
Date: 2003-08-08
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v3679
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P53wX3hGx64&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-sUBbx3VBtkjZ8QS4wiJk4

VN of the Month August 2003 - Natsuyume Yawa

June 15, 2019

It's the month of summer Comiket, so let's try to make it through piles of Doujins together. I consider Natsuyume Yawa the masterpiece and winner by default. I'm reviewing Salem no Majo-tachi , but I've yet to develop my opinion on it. 

Kono Sora ga Tsuieru Toki ni この空がついえる瞬間に [Digital Monkey]

June 13, 2019
Foreword: Apocalypse angel story is enough to bait me as long as there aren't more intriguing candidates, but in July 2003 there weren't any.
Title: Kono Sora ga Tsuieru Toki ni
Developer: Digital Monkey
Date: 2003-07-25
VNDB link: https://vndb.org/v4269
Youtube walkthrough: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_A5pJN26duNo4X_aEnGCZ-

VN of the Month July 2003 - Komorebi ni Yureru Tamashii no Koe

June 11, 2019

There aren't masterpieces this month. And I'm so desperate that I'm choosing lolige Komorebi ni Yureru Tamashii no Koe as VN of the Month. I'll review a cool angel game Kono Sora ga Tsuieru Toki ni

Sayonara. さよなら。 [Panda House]

June 09, 2019
Foreword: Girl with a huge sword was a decisive factor for me, but game is quite mysterious and curious looking. It's created for the 10th anniversary of Cat's Pro/Panda House. So, is it as enjoyable as D.U.O.?

VN of the Month June 2003 - Sayonara

June 07, 2019

Lolicon becomes the main trend of 2003, so there are less and less unblocked games. Sayonara is VN of the month, but whether it's a masterpiece or not will get clear from review.

Ashita Deatta Shoujo あした出逢った少女 [Moonstone]

June 05, 2019
Foreword: May had zero interesting releases without review for me, so I chose one with the English review already (1). My hope in nakige is crippled, so I wonder if it can be restored with this game, just as it affected this review's author.

VN of the Month May 2003 - Ashita Deatta Shoujo

June 03, 2019

True Remembrance , Ashita Deatta Shoujo and Uchi no Imouto no Baai (Heart) can be called masterpieces. I'm inclined to name Ashita Deatta Shoujo the winner. My review of it follows next.

My Merry Maybe [KID]

June 02, 2019
Foreword: I know game is a nakige, but it has universally high scores. KID visual novels made for PlayStation look very generic and boring to me. Is this the one that finally puts me to shame? 

VN of the Month April 2003 - Zanmataisei Demonbane

May 30, 2019

Zanmataisei Demonbane is still VN of the month for me even though I see zero point in the game, it's pure entertainment with predetermined ending and no story in-between. The reason is that other masterpieces of the month - My Merry Maybe and Yumeria - are even weaker. I'll give my stance on My Merry Maybe in review.

Interlude インタールード [Longshot]

May 28, 2019
Foreword: I played Aya route six  years ago, but was left quite confused for the lack of understanding. Anime put its dots, but it deliberately changed the ending. I'm over-enjoyed to finally read all the routes in all the complexity.

VN of the Month March 2003 - Interlude

May 26, 2019

Interlude is the only masterpiece of the month. This month blocked novels surpassed normal ones over four times which is very scary considered that it's not a Comiket month.

One 2 ~Eien no Yakusoku~ ONE2~永遠の約束~ [BaseSon]

May 24, 2019
Foreword: With Fuwa and vndbreview votes combined One 2 ~Eien no Yakusoku~ got 5 poll votes which is two votes more than closest competitor Masaru: Ashita no Yukinojou 2 has. I already mentioned that One 2 is a masterpiece, so it's time to present my reasoning. As usual, I only picked two heroines to capture while remaining four remain untouched (except for common route cameo).

BM0 残酷な夜に彼女の叫びは誰にも聞こえない。 Zankoku na Yoru ni Kanojo no Sakebi wa Dare ni mo Kikoenai. [FlyingShine]

May 22, 2019
Foreword: I made up mind not to read reviews about BM0  in order to preserve original experience, but I was surprised to see negative impressions of BM0 in other visual novel reviews of 2002! Wow, what could this game possibly do to piss so many people off? Can it really be worse than DoNoR with its blurry backgrounds?

VN of the Month February 2003 - Routes

May 20, 2019

Routes is the only masterpiece of the month. By inertia i'm choosing BM0 from FlyingShine for review this month.

Moekan モエかん [KeroQ]

May 18, 2019
Foreword: Why would KeroQ make a moege? This though bothered me for a while. But what if KeroQ tricked everyone and made something entirely different under facade of moege?

VN of the Month January 2003 - Moekan

May 16, 2019

Moekan is the only masterpiece of the month.

VN of the Year 2002 and POLL for Extra review 2002

May 14, 2019
Year 2002 was quite curious. A lot of heavy weight candidates finally entered the scene. 
New portion of Visual Novel Openings 2002 with songs.

Tamamayu ~Miserareta Mitsu no Ito~ 玉繭 ~魅せられた蜜の糸~ [Mireille]

May 11, 2019
Foreword: Girls with swords - will they repeat success of Gunsister?

VN of the Month December 2002 - Popotan

May 11, 2019

There are no masterpieces this month. This is becoming a tradition! Guess Popotan can be called VN of the Month. I'm choosing Tamamayu ~Miserareta Mitsu no Ito~ for review. Girls with swords not as cool as with guns, but will do.
 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates