Latest Updates

VN of the Month October 1999 - Silver Jiken

October 31, 2017

The game of the October 1999 is Silver Jiken. I wanted to write in couple sentences why, but I failed at that miserably and I'd better post a non-structured review of it in order not to overburden this post.

Kazeoto, Chirin かぜおと、ちりん [C's Ware]

October 29, 2017
Foreword: It's a C's Ware game and these guys have not let me down even once. Unlike Re-Leaf which has quite a clear synopsis and multiple endings, this work is much more mysterious. I thought I'd get just another rural slice of life with some side mystery, but what I got was an ancestor of Cross†Channel with a global anomaly and looped story.

VN of the Month September 1999 - Kazeoto, Chirin

October 27, 2017

For me the best VN of September 1999 is Kazeoto, Chirin. There's such well known game as Memories Off as well, but a I place a good midscrew over a good slice of life in most of cases.

VN of the Month August 1999 - Tsui no Sora

October 25, 2017

There's not much to talk about this month. Tsui no Sora and L no Kisetsu: A piece of memories are the masterpieces of August 1999. My heart is totally with Tsui no Sora.

VN of the Month July 1999 - Mamatoto ~a record of war~

October 23, 2017

Wow, there's a mortal combat between such titans as Team Baldrhead, Alice Soft and Studio e.go this month. Well, Men at Work is the first RPG offspring of Studio e.go and it's just too simplistic to compete yet. Baldrhead is also the first part in the series and suffers from some technical problems and short duration. Mamatoto ~a record of war~ on the other hand is quite a polished RPG that even has English patch and it is the VN of the Month July 1999.

VN of the Month June 1999 - Kanon

October 21, 2017

The VN of June 1999 is Kanon. Not because it's well known - that's irrelevant. But because I've found a route in it that I totally liked. I'm talking about Mai route, the demon hunter. The main funny part coupled with night school hunt were a cool mix. The three-sided friendship of Mai-Sayuri-Yuuichi was just perfect, because the bonds between the girls were so firm and that they understood each other completely compared to Yuuichi who doubted them often. There are night evil spirits fights, lots of swordplay, cool and always right Mai - what's not to like here? I did not notice forced drama or sleazy relations there. Well, the last hour of Mai route was horrible, because nothing happens apart of childhood memories and desperate attempts to squeeze a tear by endless repeats of the same things. I safely ignored the last hour and thus saved only good memories about Mai route. I'm not going to explore other heroines routes since I'm not ok with their personalities and/or mental health. So hip hip hooray to Kanon, the great devil hunter story or at least so I remember it for. I'm absolutely assured that the main power of Key is in creating very enjoyable drama-free general routes and heroines routes and especially endings fall into being forced nakige.

VN of the Month May 1999 - Comic party

October 19, 2017
There should be no two opinions about this, Comic party rocked May 1999. It's very difficult for a SIM to gain my approval, but all the elements fit here perfectly. So far there have not been more than a couple of doujin games released, but this game has woken the devil of 2000s.

VN of the Month April 1999 - Lipstick Adv.EX

October 17, 2017
Love Forever and Lipstick Adv.EX are the masterpieces of the month, but I prefer Lipstick Adv.EX

VN of the Month March 1999 - Captain Love

October 15, 2017
Captain Love is the only masterpiece of the month

VN of the Month February 1999 - Campus ~Sakura no Mau Naka de~

October 13, 2017

There aren't masterpieces this month, but Campus ~Sakura no Mau Naka de~ is the only title worthy of being game of the month.

Chiruhana ~Kindan no Ketsuzoku~ 散櫻 ~禁断の血族~ [C's Ware]

October 11, 2017
Foreword: I've been mesmerized by C's Ware game for quite a long time by now and I could not miss this work even though it's not my type of game at all.

VN of the Month January 1999 - Ikusa Megami

October 09, 2017
Refrain Love 2 and Ikusa Megami are masterpieces of the month, but my preference goes to Ikusa Megami

VN of the Year 1998 - luv wave

October 07, 2017
Year 1998 has become a year of hope for me. After very devastating transition year 1997 there are so many joys and wonderful games at last. Running a bit ahead, there is a 50% increase both in total number of games and in number of listed games resulting in the record number of masterpieces this year.

VN of the Month December 1998 - Kuon no Kizuna

October 05, 2017
Kuon no Kizuna is the only masterpiece of December 1998.

Exodus Guilty エクソダスギルティー [Abel]

October 03, 2017
Foreword: This is Kanno-san's scenario and I could not miss on it. There are a lot of good English reviews on the game so I'll try to just add some additional thoughts I have on top of those reviews.

VN of the Month November 1998 - Exodus Guilty

October 01, 2017
Castle Fantasia ~Seima Taisen~ and Exodus Guilty are the masterpieces of the month and the winner is Exodus Guilty for being the more traditional VN type.

VN of the Month October 1998 - Psyclone

September 29, 2017
Psyclone is the only masterpiece of the month.

luv wave / ラブ・ウェーヴ [C's Ware]

September 27, 2017
Foreword: C's Ware produced so many good works that I inevitably had to observe each work very thoroughly. luv wave with its 3D half-naked girl on the cover looked more like a 3D adult movie than a cyberpunk game. Who knew then that it would be one of my favorite games.

VN of the Month September 1998 - With You ~Mitsumete Itai~

September 25, 2017
With You ~Mitsumete Itai~ is the only masterpiece of the month.

VN of the Month August 1998 - Shiokaze no Memory

September 24, 2017
There aren't masterpieces this month, but my personal favorite is Shiokaze no Memory, it's short, nice and has a distinctive individuality.

VN of the Month July 1998 - luv wave

September 23, 2017
Kisetsu o Dakishimete and luv wave are masterpieces of the month, but luv wave is my absolute favorite.

DiaboLiQuE / -デアボリカ- [Alice Soft]

September 21, 2017
Foreword: I don't believe Alice Soft - they can only make eroge and bakage. But this game was highly praised overseas. Who knows, maybe it's the game that can overcome my aversion.

VN of the Month June 1998 - One ~Kagayaku Kisetsu e~

September 19, 2017
Cross Tantei Monogatari ~Motsureta Nanatsu no Labyrinth~Double Cast and One ~Kagayaku Kisetsu e~ are the masterpieces of the month, but One ~Kagayaku Kisetsu e~ is the clear winner here.

VN of the Month May 1998 - Diabolique

September 17, 2017
Diabolique and Hajimari no Kisetsu ~Izakaya Fuyu Monogatari~ are the masterpieces of the month, but Diabolique is a product of much bigger scale and thus is VN of the Month.

VN of the Month April 1998 - Love Escalator

September 15, 2017
Love EscalatorKojin Kyouju: La Leçon Particulière and First Kiss☆Story are the masterpieces of the month, but Love Escalator is a more accessible and original story.

VN of the Month March 1998 - EVE: The Lost One

September 13, 2017
EVE: The Lost One is the only masterpiece of the month.

Canaan ~Yakusoku no Chi~ カナン ~約束の地~ [Four-Nine]

September 11, 2017
Foreword: The culmination of the series and the biggest jewel Four-Nine ever produced. I'm late with the review since I wanted to finish video playthrough first.

VN of the Month February 1998 - Doukoku Soshite...

September 07, 2017
Doukoku Soshite... is the only masterpiece of the month and thus is VN of the Month.

VN of the Month January 1998 - Machi

September 05, 2017
There are no masterpieces this month. My subjective choice for VN of the Month January 1998 is Machi - maybe it's the impact of 428 sequel. I've very difficult history with Divi-Dead as both times I tried it I fell asleep. No true ending is worth such boring gameplay. And I just can't appreciate dating SIMs without impact on story to evaluate Sentimental Graffiti properly.

VN of the Year 1997 - Canaan ~Yakusoku no Chi~

September 03, 2017
What a tiresome year. First Windows year had too many obscure games with tiny bits of information to get. Crude graphics, bland plotlines, typical dating sim gameplay. But all in due time.
 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates