Latest Updates

VN of the Month April 2006 - Tenshitsuki no Shoujo

February 28, 2020

I consider Tenshitsuki no Shoujo to be VN of the Month. I promised one person to review Kansen ~Inyoku no Rensa~ , and this time has come.

Lost Child [Tama-Soft]

February 26, 2020
Foreword: Game interested me mostly as supposed sequel of Abandoner.

VN of the Month March 2006 - Lost Child

February 24, 2020

Lost Child is VN of the Month, review incoming. Guess Kono Aozora ni Yakusoku o can also be called a masterpiece.

AR ~Wasurerareta Natsu~ AR~忘れられた夏~ [Circus]

February 20, 2020
Foreword: Circus makes either serial works of flying whales (hello, Saishuu Shiken Kujira). This is exactly such case of flying whales. Lots of mist and epicness summoned to cover dirty rags.

VN of the Month February 2006 - Muv-Luv Alternative

February 16, 2020

Muv-Luv Alternative definitely makes the winner of this month and, despite my worries, I enjoy it a lot so far, somewhere between 9 and 10. The only other game that can be called a masterpiece this month is Moshimo Ashita ga Harenaraba . I'm choosing AR ~Wasurerareta Natsu~ for review just in order to reveal its very vaguely described plot.

Horizont [Artel]

February 13, 2020
Foreword: I was choosing between booby fighting action, PS2 juvenile investigation game and SF game in January 2006, so I chose SF one, of course. I also quite liked Setsuka character design, so decided to try Horizont for her alone at least.

VN of the Month January 2006 - I/O

February 09, 2020

The VN of the Month is  I/O, but that's a great start of the year. I also consider Fragments Blue a masterpiece. For some reason I chose Horizont for review among games without English review.

Updated

February 04, 2020
Finished updating old posts. Nothing really interesting is added, so added games comments are very scarce. Main changes are mostly about descriptions for games that did not have one, over 500 new descriptions. Some review/opening/image links changed. Finally, I can move on now. This is the early draft of changes, stopped updating it midway. 

Toki no Kairou 時の回廊 [White Cyc]

December 22, 2019
Foreword: Toki no Kairou wins marginally in the joint poll of the year. It's quite curious to see what White Cyc first game is like compared to games of the big brother Black Cyc.

VN of the Year 2005 and POLL for EXTRA review

December 17, 2019
Year 2005 was awesome. It's the golden age for plotge. Plots have become so diverse and complex that a lot more time is required to crack them up. My new approach to pick up all the titles I like doesn't help to move faster either. In addition, my base corresponds VNDB base of 2017, and it's time to synchronize. There are 230 new titles to add from 1980 till 2005, plus a dozen of old titles that I found out over time and finally can describe properly, let alone the need to refresh openings links. So Till January of 2020 there will only be Extra review of the year, then I'll be updating old articles. 1983 and 1984 years already received an update. 
New portion of Visual Novel Openings 2005 with songs.

Yatohime Zankikou 夜刀姫斬鬼行 [Terios]

December 15, 2019
Foreword: Yatohime Zankikou has an absolutely starry staff, great chuni story, astonishing visuals and lots of fighting girls. Everything promises the ultimate score, but why average scores are just between 7 and 8 then?

Aekanaru Sekai no Owari ni あえかなる世界の終わりに [Caramel Box]

December 06, 2019
Foreword: Finally a Caramel Box game with a plot that I can actually enjoy. But online RPG development took me by surprise, so I'm totally sold here.

Dragonia ドラゴニア [Hirameki International]

December 01, 2019
Foreword: Dragonia remains in obscurity while being localized. That's a strange situation, so I wanted to check why.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40ois_GrS5w&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8rKP5oDa1nzt0KevjFrmhw&index=31

VN of the Month December 2005 - Aekanaru Sekai no Owari ni

November 29, 2019
New December brings over 100 titles again. I consider Aekanaru Sekai no Owari ni  to be VN of the month, while Yatohime Zankikou and Yume Miru Kusuri are masterpieces. I'll review the first two as well as Dragonia

Terrible Future てりぶるフューチャー [CoreMoreco]

November 27, 2019
Foreword: I was choosing between a moege and a nakige in November, so just went for the first SF looking work which by chance turned out to be Terrible Future. I wish I chose anything over it, really, like anything.
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2mluk-y9Bg&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9k1HWgnRrjgH1amhusrT-d

VN of the Month November 2005 - Sharin no Kuni, Himawari no Shoujo

November 24, 2019
Sharin no Kuni, Himawari no Shoujo is VN of the Month. Nursery Rhyme and Tomoyo After ~It's a Wonderful Life~ are masterpieces.  For some weird reason I chose Terrible Future for review.

AYAKASHI アヤカシ [Apricot]

November 21, 2019
Foreword: Could only find one small impression (1), and it covers main points. I'll try to provide some novelty by comparing the game with the anime version.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v25
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o19Xvg1cMhE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-J7-CHaWYlOWzwXgTG0uAE

Heaven's Cage ヘブンズケージ [Art]

November 18, 2019
Foreword: Heaven's Cage is a very curious find for me due to its fresh, uncommon view on MMORPG. It pleasantly surprised me on more than one occasion. Here are the results of this experience.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1355
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4rkHG8K-TE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_nMwz1VgZtn0zheAWpoWfO

VN of the Month October 2005 - Ayakashi

November 15, 2019
Memories Off #5 Togireta Film , Ayakashi and Heaven's Cage are masterpieces of the month, and I'm reviewing the latter two. The winner is Ayakashi. I refuse to acknowledge any spin-offs or sequels of Fate/Night like Fate/Hollow Ataraxia .

Gunjou no Sora o Koete 群青の空を越えて [light]

November 13, 2019
Foreword: Whenever a war story is covered, I always expect something like Saishuu Heiki Kanojo anime story. But in fact Gunjou no Sora o Koete is a normal charage in an unusual setting. There are enough good English reviews (1 2 3 4 5 6), so address them for a more favorable review. Game does not live up to my expectations, so I can't stop being critical about it.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1069
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxgPzBYzKUg&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-E2DXYizsP4bmQoMlHuSS3

VN of the Month September 2005 - Gunjou no Sora o Koete

November 10, 2019
Probably only Gunjou no Sora o Koete deserves to be called a masterpiece this month. Not really sure about Yoake Mae yori Ruri Iro na and Hanachirasu .

Saihate no Ima 最果てのイマ [Xuse]

November 08, 2019
Foreword: The reviews we have are pretty vague (1 2 3 4 5 6 7), so the impression of a very difficult work is created. I'm going to put all the dots so that there was not fear to read it.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v1278
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyO6B82c_GE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9G-VbjOXlAvQZqm-u8F497

Tsuyokiss つよきす [Candy Soft]

October 31, 2019
Foreword: I took up Tsuyokiss blindly hoping for a decent charage akin to Majikoi (same writer and also girl with katana) due to the high score this game gets. Moege equals trash for me. With such a high vote Tsuyokiss can't be a moege, right?
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v397
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFHoqzMOFDY&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv-zA1QgYUTcnldJqEqo1lT5

VN of the Month August 2005 - Saihate no Ima

October 29, 2019
Summer Comiket month still produces less than 100 VNs per month, but that does not make it easier. Saihate no Ima is the VN of the Month. Narcissu is another masterpiece. I'm reviewing both the winner and Tsuyokiss just to follow the trends of charage.

Tashika ni Kimi wa Koko ni Ita 確かにキミはココにいた -You were certainly here- [Undel]

October 27, 2019
Foreword: I just like everything that has to do MMO. Game has a curious enough concept. The only question is how it's going to be realized.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v5344
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2V6sLsNyHhw&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv_IUvdEluOx80SPFgHQF99e

VN of the Month July 2005 - Swan Song

October 25, 2019
Swan Song is the only masterpiece of the month. Things may change as I review Tashika ni Kimi wa Koko ni Ita -You were certainly here- .

Jingai Makyou 塵骸魔京 [Nitroplus]

October 23, 2019
Foreword: Again, there are already enough English reviews of this game (1 2 3 4 5). But what I noticed is that the most thorough reviews are based on the Chinese version of the game by the speakers of Chinese language. My impression presents more of a Westerner approach.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v400
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mmQ92JtDpQ&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv9MFhOSzB2n_xIyVbArHXgt

Ayakashibito あやかしびと [Propeller]

October 21, 2019
Foreword: This is a formal shameless review just to present a video and give score / personal impression. There is an abundance of reviews of this game in untranslated review sources (1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8), and I did not even include reviews in the translated review sources.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v646
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkfbKBF3PZE&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv8HOd7D19oHjX9NAj_dJRkF

VN of the Month June 2005 - Ayakashibito

October 19, 2019
Both Jingai Makyou and Ayakashibito deserve to be called masterpieces this month, and I'm reviewing both. But my personal preference goes towards the latter Ayakashibito

Tamayura 魂響 [Akabei Soft2]

October 17, 2019
Foreword: I'm quite excited to see the first professional Akabei Soft2 work after their doujin past as Akabei Soft. I'm mostly interested in the initial release of the game, so review will be based on that. I'll also compare initial release with the remake Enkan no Kizuna.
VNDB: https://vndb.org/v85
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOJQFOpc5cs&list=PLs4Gp5VU4Fv93uWlEWyCml-A4kSkxsz4E
 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates