Latest Updates

VN of the Month July 2001 - Cosmos no Sora ni

February 27, 2019

The only masterpiece of the month is Cosmos no Sora ni, and YES, I'm going to review a nakige!

No Reality [Unknown]

February 25, 2019
Foreword: I spotted No Reality many-many years ago, but I lacked technical skills to play it properly - I had just one monitor back then, and game crashed at even sophisticated attempts to launch it in window mode or minimize in order to hook properly. Now with the help of agth and two monitors it's been a piece of cake. The most mysterious cyberpunk'ish game finally opened its doors for me.

VN of the Month June 2001 - No Reality

February 23, 2019
No Reality and Chain Ushinawareta Ashiato are masterpieces of the month, but No Reality is the best.

Femme Fatale [Inspire]

February 21, 2019
Foreword: I only got sort of interested in Femme Fatale as prequel of Edelweiss and as a part of chaotic production of Inspire company. Detective mystery game should be a safe bet for an interesting story, right?

VN of the Month May 2001 - Sapphism no Gensou

February 19, 2019
There aren't masterpieces this month, but I evaluate Sapphism no Gensou higher than any other game this month. Wanted to review it myself, but there are too many English reviews already from the yuri army. I'll be playing Femme Fatale since it's the prequel of Edelweiss that I have certain hopes about.

Handle With Care.. [ETOILE]

February 17, 2019
Foreword: April 2001 had zero visual novels to interest me. After long torments of what to choose, I stopped at Handle With Care. It's a serious musical band story, so I expected Kira☆Kira, just more serious. Should Kira☆Kira tremble at the sight of its rival that came 6 years before?

VN of the April 2001 - Mizuiro

February 15, 2019
There aren't masterpieces this month. But closest to it is Mizuiro . I will review Handle With Care..

Sayonara o Oshiete さよならを教えて ~Comment te Dire Adieu~ [Craftwork]

February 13, 2019
Sayonara o Oshiete has a good number of English reviews (1 2 3), plus reddit comments (4), but what strikes me is that all of them are positive despite some noticed flaws. But as a plotge fetishist and pragmatist to the bones, I demand demolition of fake idols. This bastion shall fall today.
Video playthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SvPm3uYd90o

VN of the Month March 2001 - Silent Hill: Play Novel

February 11, 2019
The masterpieces of the month are Silent Hill: Play Novel , Gensou Suikogaiden Vol. 2: Crystal Valley no KettouSilent Hill: Play Novel is the winner, mostly because Suikogaiden Vol. 1 was already the winner once. But I will play Sayonara o Oshiete ~Comment te Dire Adieu~ , because I need to work out my own position here.

Lipstick ADV.4 [Fairytale]

February 09, 2019
Foreword: I rated Lipstick Adv.EX as 9/10 and I just can't believe that absolutely the same people - Fairytale and scenario writer Notori Shinji - could really make a terrible game after that. I hope to present an unbiased opinion from a person who knows the series well.

VN of the Month February 2001 - Tasogare

February 07, 2019
There aren't masterpieces this month, but I opt to choose Tasogare as game of themonth.But for review I'm picking Lipstick ADV.4 to put an end to my history with these series.

Vampirdzhija Vjedogonia 吸血殲鬼ヴェドゴニア [Nitroplus]

February 05, 2019
Foreword: With deletion of boukennonikki blog there's only one review of this game left, so I hope to fill the vacuum, even though it won't be even remotely as good, but should be same critical.

VN of the Month January 2001 - Vampirdzhija Vjedogonia

February 03, 2019
I consider Renaissance , Yougen Tennyo and Vampirdzhija Vjedogonia to be masterpieces of the month, but chuuni always wins.

VN of the Year 2000 Nijuei + failed POLL for full playthrough

February 01, 2019
It took a huge amount of time to finish year 2000, but it's over. The industry has matured to contemporary state, so there's no need to search for novelties this year.
First of all, here's the collection of Visual Novel Openings 2000 with songs.

Dorei Ichiba 奴隷市場 [rúf]

January 30, 2019
Foreword: I heard about this game couple years ago that it actually had a decent plot, and around the same time got acquainted with the anime version. It's been my longtime wish to show that nukige may have a decent story, but is this exactly that case?

VN of the Month December 2000 - Never7 -The End of Infinity-

January 28, 2019
December 2000 is a total ripoff. I have zero interest in almost all its games except for Never7 -The End of Infinity- which ends up to be the VN of the Month. But for review I'd rather choose some nukige over Never7, and that game for review is Dorei Ichiba.

Nijuuei 二重影 [KeroQ]

January 25, 2019
Foreword: I actually knew nothing about the game apart of KeroQ background as a company. There's just one review of the game that blames SCA-JI writing as "feels amateurish and he didn't even try to write characters that would feel fitting to the setting" and theory-crafting as "it wasn't detailed or insightful enough to be interesting alone". I'm speechless. This is an absolutely genius 10/10 work and probably the best visual novel I ever read. The only possible explanation for low scores for Nijuuei is in case of playing PC non-voiced version. I have to admit that my experience of PC version was not too joyful either - the palette was too dark and without voicing I could barely focus attention on characters and the flow. But PS1 version was an absolute revelation for me. This review is based on PS1 version of the game (but screenshots are from PC version due to better resolution).

VN of the Month November 2000 - Nijuuei

January 19, 2019
The main shock this month that the number of blocked games surpassed the number of passed games for the first time and instantly by 50%. The only masterpiece of the month is Nijuuei . I also made 1/4 playthrough of Parallel Harmony ... but it was absolutely senseless to go on.

Kaichuudokei 懐中時計 [Free's]

January 16, 2019
Foreword: Won't lie, I only picked this game since the other notable titles of the month were gameplay-centered. But this one is a mystery story centered around time travel which makes it stand out among the rows of typical charage in October 2000.

VN of the Month October 2000 - Baldr Bullet

January 15, 2019
Baldr Bullet is the definite winner as VN of the Month, but I'm not up for a gameplay game. But then the question arises - what to review from October 2000? The obvious candidate is Bloomers 2000 , but it also has gameplay elements and its content is quite ambiguous for youtube. So my choice is Kaichuudokei - a lesser known school mystery horror.

Heart & Blade [C's Ware]

January 13, 2019
Foreword: C's Ware chuunige is always welcome by me. There are only couple Japanese reviews with mediocre scores, but knowing C's Ware... they must have prepared a new exhausting system like Kazeoto or Vist that most of people could not even pass through. Welcome to the elitist club review, since I made it to the end and have much to say about it.

VN of the Month September 2000 - Gensou Suikogaiden Vol. 1: Harmonia no Kenshi

January 11, 2019
There are two masterpieces this month - Air and Gensou Suikogaiden Vol. 1: Harmonia no Kenshi.  My hate for Air is too big, so I'd nominate any other candidate besides it, so my initial choice is Gensou Suikogaiden Vol. 1: Harmonia no Kenshi as VN of the month.

Ragnapolice ラグナポリス [Air Plants]

January 09, 2019
Foreword: This game has too many girls with guns for me to miss. Sorry in advance for for guns-only gallery! Honestly, Ragnapolice surprised me with quality police story and meaningful heroines. This is a full scale 8/10 masterpiece for me.

VN of the Month August 2000 - Tsukihime

January 05, 2019
There are four masterpieces this month - Tsukihime , Sense Off ~A Sacred Story in the Wind~ , Pure Mail , Gin'iro . Production-wise the most thrilling game is Sense Off, but I opt out for a chuuni whenever possible, so the winner is Tsukihime. I played it in the past, so won't be replaying now. But I still need something for a full rakeview this month. And this month is unusual as I'll be reviewing not game of the month, but some other game Ragnapolice which also turned out to be a masterpiece. Review incoming.

Shoin, Aruiwa Ushinawareta Yume no Monogatari. 書淫、或いは失われた夢の物語。[Force]

December 31, 2018
This game has a good spoilerless review (1) and several mentions on reddit (2 3 4 5) that all claim the game to be a "legendary" eroge renowned for its metafiction-heavy plot" "sometimes seen as a predecessor to games like Ever17" and to have "exciting plot", "saddest and most beautiful H-scene" resulting in being "emotional during reading it". So my only question at this point is "ARE YOU FREAKING BLIND, PEOPLE?!"

VN of the Month July 2000 - Shoin, Aruiwa Ushinawareta Yume no Monogatari

December 27, 2018
There's not much to choose from this month. Shoin is the only masterpiece and the winner by default.

Age Maniax ~Isumi Yon Shimai Saigo no Hi~ アージュマニアックス ~伊隅四姉妹最期の日~ [Age]

December 23, 2018
Foreword: I only started this game to find references to Phantom of Inferno, but it's high quality entertainment, and it does not let you go easily. Instead of just links to Phantom of Inferno, I enjoyed a colossal multi-culture reference mix, but about that further on.

VN of the Month June 2000 - Age Maniax ~Isumi Yon Shimai Saigo no Hi~

December 21, 2018
There are two masterpieces this month - Age Maniax ~Isumi Yon Shimai Saigo no Hi~ and Hateshinaku Aoi, Kono Sora no Shita de..., but the winner is Age Maniax, one of the most entertaining bakage I've played so far. As usual, I'll pour all my admiration in a review coming along with the video playthrough.

Purepure ピュアピュア [Ange]

December 19, 2018
Foreword: There were three particular reasons to choose Purepure for review. First, because May 2000 disappoints me with the range of games - most games are either charage, or nukige, or gameplay focused games. Secondly, I see Purepure similarities with Shunpuu Shoujo that I love gently. The third reason is that I see this game to be very different from previous Ange games. I'll try to elaborate in the main part and give my reasons for nominating this game as game of the month in conclusion. 

VN of the Month May 2000 - Purepure

December 16, 2018
Quite a bland month with few games. There aren't masterpieces this month, but I still need to choose the game of the month that I would record on video. So I need to choose something without gameplay elements, too much insult and not too evident plot. The only game that suits my demands is Purepure, and thus it's the game of the month that deserves a video playthrough.
 
Copyright © VNDBReview. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates